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REGISTER INFORMATION PAGE 

THE VIRGINIA REGISTER OF REGULATIONS is an official state 

publication issued every other week throughout the year. Indexes are published 

quarterly, and are cumulative for the year. The Virginia Register has several 
functions. The new and amended sections of regulations, both as proposed and 

as finally adopted, are required by law to be published in the Virginia Register. 

In addition, the Virginia Register is a source of other information about state 
government, including petitions for rulemaking, emergency regulations, 

executive orders issued by the Governor, and notices of public hearings on 

regulations. 

ADOPTION, AMENDMENT, AND REPEAL OF REGULATIONS 

Unless exempted by law, an agency wishing to adopt, amend, or repeal 

regulations must follow the procedures in the Administrative Process Act 
(§ 2.2-4000 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Typically, this includes first 

publishing in the Virginia Register a notice of intended regulatory action; a 

basis, purpose, substance and issues statement; an economic impact analysis 
prepared by the Department of Planning and Budget; the agency’s response to 

the economic impact analysis; a summary; a notice giving the public an 

opportunity to comment on the proposal; and the text of the proposed 
regulation. 

Following publication of the proposed regulation in the Virginia Register, the 

promulgating agency receives public comments for a minimum of 60 days. 
The Governor reviews the proposed regulation to determine if it is necessary 

to protect the public health, safety, and welfare, and if it is clearly written and 

easily understandable. If the Governor chooses to comment on the proposed 
regulation, his comments must be transmitted to the agency and the Registrar 

of Regulations no later than 15 days following the completion of the 60-day 
public comment period. The Governor’s comments, if any, will be published 

in the Virginia Register. Not less than 15 days following the completion of the 

60-day public comment period, the agency may adopt the proposed regulation. 

The Joint Commission on Administrative Rules or the appropriate standing 

committee of each house of the General Assembly may meet during the 

promulgation or final adoption process and file an objection with the Registrar 
and the promulgating agency. The objection will be published in the Virginia 

Register. Within 21 days after receipt by the agency of a legislative objection, 

the agency shall file a response with the Registrar, the objecting legislative 
body, and the Governor. 

When final action is taken, the agency again publishes the text of the 

regulation as adopted, highlighting all changes made to the proposed 
regulation and explaining any substantial changes made since publication of 

the proposal. A 30-day final adoption period begins upon final publication in 

the Virginia Register. 

The Governor may review the final regulation during this time and, if he 

objects, forward his objection to the Registrar and the agency. In addition to 

or in lieu of filing a formal objection, the Governor may suspend the effective 
date of a portion or all of a regulation until the end of the next regular General 

Assembly session by issuing a directive signed by a majority of the members 

of the appropriate legislative body and the Governor. The Governor’s 
objection or suspension of the regulation, or both, will be published in the 

Virginia Register. 

If the Governor finds that the final regulation contains changes made after 
publication of the proposed regulation that have substantial impact, he may 

require the agency to provide an additional 30-day public comment period on 

the changes. Notice of the additional public comment period required by the 

Governor will be published in the Virginia Register. Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.06 

of the Code of Virginia, any person may request that the agency solicit 

additional public comment on certain changes made after publication of the 
proposed regulation. The agency shall suspend the regulatory process for 30 

days upon such request from 25 or more individuals, unless the agency 

determines that the changes have minor or inconsequential impact. 

A regulation becomes effective at the conclusion of the 30-day final adoption 

period, or at any other later date specified by the promulgating agency, unless 

(i) a legislative objection has been filed, in which event the regulation, unless 
withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 

expiration of the 21-day objection period; (ii) the Governor exercises his 

authority to require the agency to provide for additional public comment, in 

which event the regulation, unless withdrawn, becomes effective on the date 

specified, which shall be after the expiration of the period for which the 

Governor has provided for additional public comment; (iii) the Governor and 

the General Assembly exercise their authority to suspend the effective date of 
a regulation until the end of the next regular legislative session; or (iv) the 

agency suspends the regulatory process, in which event the regulation, unless 

withdrawn, becomes effective on the date specified, which shall be after the 
expiration of the 30-day public comment period and no earlier than 15 days 

from publication of the readopted action. 

A regulatory action may be withdrawn by the promulgating agency at any 
time before the regulation becomes final. 

FAST-TRACK RULEMAKING PROCESS 

Section 2.2-4012.1 of the Code of Virginia provides an alternative to the 
standard process set forth in the Administrative Process Act for regulations 

deemed by the Governor to be noncontroversial. To use this process, the 

Governor's concurrence is required and advance notice must be provided to 
certain legislative committees. Fast-track regulations become effective on the 

date noted in the regulatory action if fewer than 10 persons object to using the 

process in accordance with § 2.2-4012.1. 

EMERGENCY REGULATIONS 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4011 of the Code of Virginia, an agency may adopt 

emergency regulations if necessitated by an emergency situation or when 
Virginia statutory law or the appropriation act or federal law or federal 

regulation requires that a regulation be effective in 280 days or fewer from its 

enactment. In either situation, approval of the Governor is required. The 
emergency regulation is effective upon its filing with the Registrar of 

Regulations, unless a later date is specified per § 2.2-4012 of the Code of 
Virginia. Emergency regulations are limited to no more than 18 months in 

duration; however, may be extended for six months under the circumstances 

noted in § 2.2-4011 D. Emergency regulations are published as soon as 
possible in the Virginia Register and are on the Register of Regulations website 

at register.dls.virgina.gov. 

During the time the emergency regulation is in effect, the agency may 
proceed with the adoption of permanent regulations in accordance with the 

Administrative Process Act. If the agency chooses not to adopt the regulations, 

the emergency status ends when the prescribed time limit expires. 

STATEMENT 

The foregoing constitutes a generalized statement of the procedures to be 

followed. For specific statutory language, it is suggested that Article 2 (§ 2.2-
4006 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia be examined 

carefully. 

CITATION TO THE VIRGINIA REGISTER 

The Virginia Register is cited by volume, issue, page number, and date. 34:8 

VA.R. 763-832 December 11, 2017, refers to Volume 34, Issue 8, pages 763 

through 832 of the Virginia Register issued on  
December 11, 2017. 

The Virginia Register of Regulations is published pursuant to Article 6 (§ 2.2-

4031 et seq.) of Chapter 40 of Title 2.2 of the Code of Virginia. 

Members of the Virginia Code Commission: John S. Edwards, Chair; 

James A. Leftwich, Jr., Vice-Chair; Ward L. Armstrong; Nicole Cheuk; 

Richard E. Gardiner; Ryan T. McDougle; Christopher R. Nolen; Steven 

Popps; Charles S. Sharp; Malfourd W. Trumbo; Amigo R. Wade; Wren 

M. Williams. 

Staff of the Virginia Register: Holly Trice, Registrar of Regulations; Anne 

Bloomsburg, Assistant Registrar; Nikki Clemons, Regulations Analyst; 

Rhonda Dyer, Publications Assistant; Terri Edwards, Senior Operations 

Staff Assistant. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/2.2-4011/
http://register.dls.virgina.gov/
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PUBLICATION SCHEDULE AND DEADLINES 

July 2023 through July 2024 

Volume: Issue Material Submitted By Noon* Will Be Published On 

39:23 June 14, 2023 July 3, 2023 

39:24 June 28, 2023 July 17, 2023 

39:25 July 12, 2023 July 31, 2023 

39:26 July 26, 2023 August 14, 2023 

40:1 August 9, 2023 August 28, 2023 

40:2 August 23, 2023 September 11, 2023 

40:3 September 6, 2023 September 25, 2023 

40:4 September 20, 2023 October 9, 2023 

40:5 October 4, 2023 October 23, 2023 

40:6 October 18, 2023 November 6, 2023 

40:7 November 1, 2023 November 20, 2023 

40:8 November 14, 2023 (Tuesday) December 4, 2023 

40:9 November 29, 2023 December 18, 2023 

40:10 December 13, 2023 January 1, 2024 

40:11 December 27, 2023 January 15, 2024 

40:12 January 10, 2024 January 29, 2024 

40:13 January 24, 2024 February 12, 2024 

40:14 February 7, 2024 February 26, 2024 

40:15 February 21, 2024 March 11, 2024 

40:16 March 6, 2024 March 25, 2024 

40:17 March 20, 2024 April 8, 2024 

40:18 April 3, 2024 April 22, 2024 

40:19 April 17, 2024 May 6, 2024 

40:20 May 1, 2024 May 20, 2024 

40:21 May 15, 2024 June 3, 2024 

40:22 May 29, 2024 June 17, 2024 

40:23 June 12, 2024 July 1, 2024 

40:24 June 26, 2024 July 15, 2024 

*Filing deadlines are Wednesdays unless otherwise specified. 
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PETITIONS FOR RULEMAKING 

TITLE 1. ADMINISTRATION 

STATE BOARD OF ELECTIONS 

Initial Agency Notice 

Title of Regulation: 1VAC20-40. Voter Registration. 

Statutory Authority: § 24.2-103 of the Code of Virginia. 

Name of Petitioner: Ann Grigorian. 

Nature of Petitioner's Request: The petitioner requests a 

process be established that allows jury commissioners to relay, 

from lists of registered voters obtained from the Department of 

Elections under § 24.2-405 of the Code of Virginia, the 

information obtained from those persons not qualified to serve 

as jurors as a result of (i) not being a citizen of the United 

States, (ii) no longer being a resident of the Commonwealth, 

(iii) being a resident of another county or city in the 

Commonwealth, (iv) having been convicted of a felony and not 

having had voting rights restored, or (v) having been 

adjudicated incapacitated and disqualified to vote and not 

having had voting rights restored. The rule provides a process 

whereby the sheriff, clerk of court, or other official responsible 

for maintaining such information provided by the 

commissioners may enter into an agreement with the general 

registrar for the locality to make that information available to 

that general registrar. The general registrar shall utilize the 

information received pursuant to this policy to identify 

registered voters who are no longer qualified to vote and to 

initiate list maintenance procedures pursuant to current law. 

Agency Plan for Disposition of Request: The Department of 

Elections is continuing to review whether the State Board of 

Elections has the statutory authority to utilize a juror 

questionnaire for the petitioner's requested purpose. The 

request may conflict with statute. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 10, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Franchelle Tyson, Administrative Program 

Specialist, Department of Elections, 1100 Bank Street, First 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 864-8919, or 

email franchelle.tyson@elections.virginia.gov. 

VA.R. Doc. No. PFR23-33; Filed May 26, 2023, 10:07 a.m. 

mailto:franchelle.tyson@elections.virginia.gov
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PERIODIC REVIEWS AND SMALL BUSINESS IMPACT REVIEWS 

TITLE 17. LIBRARIES AND CULTURAL 
RESOURCES 

DEPARTMENT OF HISTORIC RESOURCES 

Report of Findings 

Pursuant to §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, 

the Department of Historic Resources conducted a periodic review 

and a small business impact review of 17VAC10-20, Evaluation 

Criteria and Procedures for Nominations of Property to the 

National Register or for Designation as a National Historic 

Landmark, and determined that this regulation should be retained 

as is. The department is publishing its report of findings dated May 

22, 2023, to support this decision. 

This regulation is necessary for the protection of public health, 

safety, and welfare and is clearly written and easily 

understandable. This regulation satisfies the provisions of the law 

and legally binding state requirements and is effective in meeting 

its goals. Therefore, the regulation is being retained without 

amendment. This regulation continues to be needed to meet the 

requirements of state law and regulations concerning the National 

Register and National Historic Landmark designation, including 

setting out the state requirements for listing. No complaints or 

comments have been received concerning the content of the 

regulation or its complexity. The regulation does not overlap, 

duplicate, or conflict with other state laws or regulations. 

Contact Information: Stephanie Williams, Deputy Director, 

Department of Historic Resources, 2801 Kensington Avenue, 

Richmond, VA 23221, telephone (804) 482-6085. 

  ––––––––––––––––––   

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR ARCHITECTS, PROFESSIONAL 
ENGINEERS, LAND SURVEYORS, CERTIFIED 

INTERIOR DESIGNERS AND LANDSCAPE 
ARCHITECTS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 2.2-

4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact review: 

18VAC10-11, Public Participation Guidelines; and 18VAC10-

20, Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land 

Surveyors, Certified Interior Designers and Landscape 

Architects Regulations. The review of each regulation will be 

guided by the principles in Executive Order 19 (2022). The 

purpose of a periodic review is to determine whether each 

regulation should be repealed, amended, or retained in its current 

form. Public comment is sought on the review of any issue relating 

to these regulations, including whether each regulation (i) is 

necessary for the protection of public health, safety, and welfare 

or for the economical performance of important governmental 

functions; (ii) minimizes the economic impact on small businesses 

in a manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 19, 2023, and ends July 10, 

2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response to 

the comment from the agency. Following the close of the public 

comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted on the 

Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the Virginia 

Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kathleen R. Nosbisch, Executive Director, 

Board for Architects, Professional Engineers, Land Surveyors, 

Certified Interior Designers and Landscape Architects, 9960 

Mayland Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 

367-8514. 

BOARD FOR HEARING AID SPECIALISTS AND 
OPTICIANS 

Agency Notice 

Pursuant to Executive Order 19 (2022) and §§ 2.2-4007.1 and 

2.2-4017 of the Code of Virginia, the following regulations are 

undergoing a periodic review and a small business impact 

review: 18VAC80-11, Public Participation Guidelines; 

18VAC80-20, Hearing Aid Specialists Regulations; and 

18VAC80-30, Opticians Regulations. The review of each 

regulation will be guided by the principles in Executive Order 

19 (2022). The purpose of a periodic review is to determine 

whether each regulation should be repealed, amended, or 

retained in its current form. Public comment is sought on the 

review of any issue relating to these regulations, including 

whether each regulation (i) is necessary for the protection of 

public health, safety, and welfare or for the economical 

performance of important governmental functions; (ii) 

minimizes the economic impact on small businesses in a 

manner consistent with the stated objectives of applicable law; 

and (iii) is clearly written and easily understandable. 

Public comment period begins June 19, 2023, and ends July 

10, 2023. 

Comments must include the commenter's name and address 

(physical or email) information in order to receive a response 

to the comment from the agency. Following the close of the 

public comment period, a report of both reviews will be posted 

on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall and published in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. 

Contact Information: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board 

for Hearing Aid Specialists and Opticians, 9960 Mayland 

Drive, Suite 400, Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-

8590. 
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REGULATIONS 

TITLE 18. PROFESSIONAL AND 
OCCUPATIONAL LICENSING 

BOARD FOR BARBERS AND COSMETOLOGY 

Fast-Track Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-20. Barbering and 

Cosmetology Regulations (amending 18VAC41-20-180). 

18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations (amending 18VAC41-

50-180). 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-140). 

18VAC41-70. Esthetics Regulations (amending 18VAC41-

70-160). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Public Hearing Information: No public hearing is currently 

scheduled. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2023. 

Effective Date: October 1, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board for 

Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 

245-9693, or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Basis: Section 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia gives authority 

to the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology to promulgate 

regulations. 

Purpose: The purpose of this action is to allow practitioners 

who obtained an initial license through a grandfathering 

provision, but have allowed their licenses to expire, the ability 

to be eligible for a new license based on the original 

grandfathering provision, five years of licensed experience, 

and passing required examinations. Currently, individuals 

initially licensed under grandfathering provisions whose 

licenses expire are required to repeat Virginia training, even 

when they have been successfully been practicing in that field 

for years. The board reviewed these regulations in response to 

requests from the public in order to ensure best practices and 

minimally burdensome regulations. 

The board determined that practitioners with expired licenses, 

originally licensed under grandfathering provisions, comply 

with the regulatory requirements of initial licensure. The board 

decided that prior licensed individuals with five years of work 

experience and who have passed the required examinations are 

equivalent to those who must meet the current entry 

requirements. The board found that five years of experience 

adequately protected the health, safety, and welfare of the 

public, without the overly burdensome requirement of forcing 

grandfathered licensees to complete unnecessary training. 

The existing regulations are limited by restricting 

grandfathered practitioners with expired licenses from 

applying for a new license without acquiring additional 

training. Few individuals receiving their initial license during 

grandfathering provisions are eligible to qualify for a new 

license after the reinstatement period. To obtain licensure, the 

practitioner must complete additional training or education. 

Rationale for Using Fast-Track Rulemaking Process: The 

proposed amendments are expected to be noncontroversial as 

they would resolve many of the complaints from practitioners 

licensed by grandfathered clauses. Currently, individuals who 

were originally licensed under a grandfathering provision are 

required to meet entry requirements if their license expires. 

Meeting current entry requirements would require additional 

training in a school or an apprenticeship in order to qualify for 

the license examination. As a result, the practitioner would be 

required to take numerous hours of training they may have 

already received. However, non-grandfathered license holders 

who hold expired licenses are permitted to retake the 

examination without acquiring additional training, which in 

effect puts a greater burden on individuals who have been 

practicing longer. The amendments are also expected to be 

noncontroversial because they reduce the regulatory burden for 

applicants without disrupting the protection of the health, 

safety, and welfare of the public. The amendments accomplish 

this by enabling those licensed under a grandfather clause who 

have expired to retake the examination after demonstrating five 

years of work experience. These individuals can swiftly reenter 

the profession without completing additional training. 

Substance: 18VAC41-20-180 B is amended to provide that an 

individual who was initially licensed as a barber, registered 

professional hair dresser (cosmetologist), or wax technician 

under an applicable examination exemption whose license is 

expired and no longer eligible for reinstatement may resume 

practice by submitting a new application showing the 

individual met the grandfathering provision, demonstrating 

five years of experience as a licensee, and passing the required 

examination. Similarly, an individual who was initially 

licensed as a nail technician under an applicable exemption 

from training requirements may resume practice by submitting 

a new application showing the individual met the 

grandfathering provision, demonstrating five years of 

experience as a licensee, and passing the required examination. 

Section 54.1-703.1 of the Code of Virginia provides the 

grandfathering provision for a wax technician. The 

mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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grandfathering provisions for barbers, cosmetologists, and nail 

technicians are no longer in either the Code of Virginia or 

Virginia Administrative Code. The amendment reflects the 

substance of the grandfathering provisions for these 

occupations. 

18VAC41-50-180 B is amended to provide that an individual 

who was granted initial licensure under the examination 

exemption in 18VAC41-50-20 A 6 whose license is expired 

and no longer eligible for reinstatement may resume practice 

by submitting a new application showing the individual met 

the grandfathering provision, demonstrating five years of 

experience as a licensee, and passing the required examination. 

18VAC 41-60-140 B is amended to provide that an individual 

who was granted initial licensure under the examination 

exemption in 18VAC41-60-20 A 6 whose license is expired 

and no longer eligible for reinstatement may resume practice 

by submitting a new application showing the individual met 

the grandfathering provision, demonstrating five years of 

experience as a licensee, and passing the required examination. 

18VAC 41-70-160 B is amended to provide that an individual 

who was granted initial licensure under the examination 

exemption in § 54.1-703.3 of the Code of Virginia whose 

license is expired and no longer eligible for reinstatement may 

resume practice by submitting a new application showing the 

individual met the grandfathering provision, demonstrating 

five years of experience as a licensee, and passing the required 

examination. 

Issues: The primary advantage to the public is the economic 

opportunity it provides by allowing grandfathered practitioners 

with lapsed licenses to retake the examination after providing 

documentation of five years of work experience. Currently, 

most grandfathered individuals with lapsed licenses have to 

restart their training, which results in an economic loss from 

tuition and lost earnings due to the extra time spent repeating 

completed training. The modified regulations protect the 

health, safety, and welfare of the public while expanding 

economic benefits to individuals granted licensure under 

grandfathered provisions. Small businesses can benefit from 

hiring licensees returning to the workplace after fulfilling 

board requirements. There are no disadvantages to businesses 

and the public. There are no advantages or disadvantages to the 

agency or Commonwealth. 

Department of Planning and Budget's Economic Impact 

Analysis:  

The Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) has analyzed 

the economic impact of this proposed regulation in accordance 

with § 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia (Code) and 

Executive Order 19. The analysis presented represents DPB's 

best estimate of these economic impacts.1  

Summary of the Proposed Amendments to Regulation. 

Individuals who are licensed by the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology (Board) under a grandfathering provision, and 

who fail to renew their license within two years of its 

expiration, must apply for a new license and meet all current 

licensure requirements. The Board seeks to amend these 

requirements to let grandfathered licensees obtain a new 

license by demonstrating five years of experience instead of 

obtaining additional training.  

Background. Four of the Board's regulations contain the 

requirements for licensees who fail to renew their license 

within 30 days following its expiration date (i.e., 18VAC41-

20-180, 18VAC41-50-180, 18VAC41-60-140, and18VAC41-

70-160, all titled "Failure to renew").2 These regulations state 

that licensees may apply to have their license "reinstated" 

within two years following the expiration date. To do so, they 

must submit a reinstatement application and renewal fee and 

reinstatement fee to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation (DPOR). However, all four 

regulations also state that reinstatement is no longer possible if 

the licensee "fails to renew the license within two years 

following the expiration date." Once the license has lapsed, the 

former licensee must apply for licensure (or certification) as a 

new applicant and meet all current entry requirements for each 

respective license (or certificate), including training and taking 

any necessary examinations. 

As new training requirements have been added over the years, 

some licensees have been "grandfathered" to exempt them 

from the new requirements and thereby prevent them from 

having to incur additional training costs; these grandfathering 

provisions are intended to reduce barriers to entry into the 

profession. However, as stated above, these licensees would 

have to meet current entry requirements if they wish to re-

activate a lapsed license. DPOR reports that, "Meeting entry 

requirements requires additional training in a school or an 

apprenticeship. As a result, the practitioner is required to repeat 

numerous hours of training material they have already received 

training on."3 At the same time, non-grandfathered license 

holders who wish to re-activate a lapsed license are permitted 

to simply pay the application fees and retake the examination 

without acquiring additional training. This implicitly places a 

greater burden on individuals who have been practicing longer. 

Thus, the Board seeks to ease the requirements for individuals 

licensed under grandfathering provisions who wish to re-

activate a lapsed license. In doing so, the Board would be 

addressing several complaints received from grandfathered 

practitioners who, after allowing their licenses to lapse, sought 

to re-activate their license but were told they first had to receive 

training. The proposed changes would allow individuals 

licensed under a grandfathering provision to submit a new 

application showing that they meet the requirements based on 

the grandfathering provisions, demonstrate five years of 

licensed experience, and pass required examinations. Thus, 

individuals licensed under a grandfathering agreement would 

be able to avoid undertaking additional training hours and/or 

apprenticeships by instead demonstrating that they have five 

years of work experience. The specific grandfathering 

provisions that would be covered under each chapter are listed. 
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(i) 18VAC41-20-180: The proposed changes would add 

grandfathering provisions as found in section 54.1-703.1 of the 

Code of Virginia (Code), which contains provisions for wax 

technicians.4 The proposed changes would also add three 

references to grandfathering provisions that no longer exist in 

the Code and are cited incorrectly. They currently appear in the 

text as "§ 54-83.2.b of the Code of Virginia (1987), § 54-

112.15 of the Code of Virginia (1970), § 54.1-2.3 B of the 

Code of Virginia (1992)." The agency reports that it is working 

with the Registrar to update and correct the citations to the 

grandfathering provisions. 

(ii) 18VAC41-50-180: The proposed changes would add 

grandfathering provisions as found in 18VAC41-50-20 A 6.5  

(iii) 18VAC41-60-140: The proposed changes would add 

grandfathering provisions as found in 18VAC41-60-20 A 6.6  

(iv) 18VAC41-70-140: The proposed changes would add 

grandfathering provisions as found in § 54.1-703.3 of the Code 

of Virginia.7  

Estimated Benefits and Costs. DPOR reports that as of 

September 1, 2022, there are 798 licensees who obtained their 

license under a grandfathering provision, whose licenses have 

lapsed, and who would not be eligible for reinstatement. 

Although some of these individuals may have retired or left the 

profession permanently, any of them who seek to re-activate 

their license would benefit from the proposed changes by not 

having to undertake additional training. DPOR estimates that 

additional training fees could range from $500 to $5,000. The 

proposed amendments would allow individuals with lapsed 

licenses who were originally licensed under a grandfathering 

provision to avoid these costs if they wish to re-activate their 

license. 

The proposed amendments would also benefit individuals who 

currently hold active licenses that were obtained under a 

grandfathering provision, who may, in the future, let their 

license lapse and subsequently seek to re-activate their license. 

Those individuals would also benefit from not having to incur 

additional training costs, which may have increased over time. 

Lastly, DPOR also reports that there are approximately 1,145 

salons, shops, and spas that would indirectly benefit from the 

proposed changes by being able to hire licensees returning to 

the workplace. This would be especially helpful if these 

businesses are currently experiencing difficulty hiring licensed 

professionals. 

Businesses and Other Entities Affected. As mentioned 

previously, the proposed amendments would benefit 

individuals licensed under a grandfathering provision whose 

licenses have lapsed as well as those who may later let their 

license lapse. The proposed amendments would also indirectly 

benefit the roughly 1,145 salons, shops, and spas that may seek 

to employ these individuals. 

The Code of Virginia requires DPB to assess whether an 

adverse impact may result from the proposed regulation.8 An 

adverse impact is indicated if there is any increase in net cost 

or reduction in net revenue for any entity, even if the benefits 

exceed the costs for all entities combined. Since the proposed 

amendments would not result in an increase in net costs for any 

entity, an adverse impact is not indicated. 

Small Businesses9 Affected.10  

Types and Estimated Number of Small Businesses Affected. 

DPOR reports that all 1,145 salons, shops, and spas that may 

employ individuals impacted by the proposed changes are 

likely to be small businesses. 

Costs and Other Effects. The proposed amendments would not 

create any new costs for small businesses. These businesses 

would benefit to the extent that the proposed changes would 

make it easier for them to hire experienced licensed 

professionals. 

Alternative Method that Minimizes Adverse Impact. No 

adverse impact is indicated; thus, no alternatives are necessary. 

Localities11 Affected.12 The proposed amendments do not 

disproportionally affect any particular localities or create costs 

for local governments.  

Projected Impact on Employment. The proposed amendments 

are intended to reduce barriers to re-entry for certain 

professionals with lapsed licenses. Thus, to the extent that 

individuals who were licensed under a grandfathering 

provision choose to re-activate their license, employment in 

barbering, cosmetology, tattooing, body-piercing, and 

esthetics may increase. However, the proposed amendments 

are unlikely to significantly affect total employment. 

Effects on the Use and Value of Private Property. The proposed 

amendments are unlikely to affect the value of private 

property. Real estate development costs would not be affected. 

________________________ 
1Section 2.2-4007.04 of the Code of Virginia requires that such economic 
impact analyses determine the public benefits and costs of the proposed 

amendments. Further the analysis should include but not be limited to: (1) the 

projected number of businesses or other entities to whom the proposed 
regulatory action would apply, (2) the identity of any localities and types of 

businesses or other entities particularly affected, (3) the projected number of 

persons and employment positions to be affected, (4) the projected costs to 
affected businesses or entities to implement or comply with the regulation, and 

(5) the impact on the use and value of private property. 

2"Licensee" as used here includes "licensed or certified individual or business 
entity" in the Barbering and Cosmetology Regulations, licensed professionals 

or certified instructors (individuals) in the Esthetics Regulations, and licensed 

individuals in the other two chapters. 
3See the Agency Background Document (ABD), page 3: 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=134\6199\9946\AgencyState

ment_DPOR_9946_v3.pdf. 
4See https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter7/section54.1-703.1/, 

which states that, "The Board shall waive the examination requirements for 

licensure as a wax technician for any individual who (i) makes application for 
licensure between July 1, 2002, and July 1, 2003; (ii) otherwise complies with 

Board regulations relating to moral turpitude; and (iii) meets any of the 

following conditions: 1. Has at least three years of documented work 
experience as a wax technician that is deemed satisfactory by the Board; 2. Has 

completed a training program that is deemed satisfactory by the Board; or 3. 

Holds an unexpired certificate of registration, certification, or license as a wax 
technician issued to him on the basis of comparable requirements by a proper 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=134/6199/9946/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9946_v3.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=134/6199/9946/AgencyStatement_DPOR_9946_v3.pdf
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter7/section54.1-703.1/
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authority of a state, territory, or possession of the United States or the District 

of Columbia." 
5https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency41/chapter50/section20/ 

which states that, "6. Persons who (i) make application for licensure between 

October 1, 2006, and September 30, 2007; (ii) have completed three years of 
documented work experience within the preceding five years as a tattooer; and 

(iii) have completed a minimum of five hours of health education to include 

but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 
related to tattooing and first aid and CPR that is acceptable to the board are not 

required to complete subdivision 5 of this subsection." 

6https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency41/chapter60/section20/ 
which states that, "6. Persons who (i) make application between April 1, 2007, 

and March 31, 2008; (ii) have completed three years of documented work 

experience within the preceding five years as a body piercer; and (iii) have 
completed a minimum of five hours of health education including but not 

limited to blood borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to 

body piercing and first aid and CPR that is acceptable to the board are not 

required to complete subdivision 5 of this subsection." 
7https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter7/section54.1-703.3/ 

which states that, The Board shall waive the examination requirements for 
licensure as an esthetician or master esthetician for any individual who (i) 

makes application for licensure by July 31, 2009; (ii) otherwise complies with 

Board regulations relating to moral turpitude; and (iii) meets any of the 
following conditions: 1. Has at least three years of documented work 

experience as an esthetician or a master esthetician completed prior to July 1, 

2008, that is deemed satisfactory by the Board; 2. Has completed a training 
program prior to July 1, 2008, that is deemed satisfactory by the Board; or 3. 

Holds an unexpired certificate of registration, certification, or license as an 

esthetician or a master esthetician issued to him prior to July 1, 2008, on the 
basis of comparable requirements by a proper authority of a state, territory, or 

possession of the United States, or the District of Columbia." 

8Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04 D: In the event this economic impact analysis 
reveals that the proposed regulation would have an adverse economic impact 

on businesses or would impose a significant adverse economic impact on a 

locality, business, or entity particularly affected, the Department of Planning 
and Budget shall advise the Joint Commission on Administrative Rules, the 

House Committee on Appropriations, and the Senate Committee on Finance. 

Statute does not define "adverse impact," state whether only Virginia entities 
should be considered, nor indicate whether an adverse impact results from 

regulatory requirements mandated by legislation. 

9Pursuant to § 2.2-4007.04, small business is defined as "a business entity, 
including its affiliates, that (i) is independently owned and operated and (ii) 

employs fewer than 500 full-time employees or has gross annual sales of less 

than $6 million." 
10If the proposed regulatory action may have an adverse effect on small 

businesses, § 2.2-4007.04 requires that such economic impact analyses 

include: (1) an identification and estimate of the number of small businesses 
subject to the proposed regulation, (2) the projected reporting, recordkeeping, 

and other administrative costs required for small businesses to comply with the 
proposed regulation, including the type of professional skills necessary for 

preparing required reports and other documents, (3) a statement of the probable 

effect of the proposed regulation on affected small businesses, and (4) a 
description of any less intrusive or less costly alternative methods of achieving 

the purpose of the proposed regulation. Additionally, pursuant to § 2.2-4007.1 

of the Code of Virginia, if there is a finding that a proposed regulation may 

have an adverse impact on small business, the Joint Commission on 

Administrative Rules shall be notified. 

11"Locality" can refer to either local governments or the locations in the 
Commonwealth where the activities relevant to the regulatory change are most 

likely to occur. 

12Section 2.2-4007.04 defines "particularly affected" as bearing 

disproportionate material impact. 

Agency's Response to Economic Impact Analysis: The Board 

for Barbers and Cosmetology concurs with the results of the 

economic impact analysis prepared by the Department of 

Planning and Budget. 

Summary: 

The amendments allow individuals initially granted 

licensure under certain examination exemptions, known 

as grandfathering, to apply for re-licensure after allowing 

the license to expire by (i) submitting a new application 

showing the individual met the requirements of the 

applicable examination waiver provision, (ii) 

demonstrating five years of licensed experience, and (iii) 

passing the required examination. 

18VAC41-20-180. Failure to renew. 

A. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity 

fails to renew its license or certificate within 30 days following 

its expiration date, the licensee or certificate holder shall apply 

for reinstatement of the license or certificate by submitting to 

the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation a 

reinstatement application and renewal fee and reinstatement 

fee. 

B. When a licensed or certified individual or business entity 

fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the: 

1. The former licensee or certificate holder shall apply for 

licensure or certification as a new applicant and shall meet 

all current entry requirements for each respective license or 

certificate. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under any of the 

following examination or training waiver provisions, known 

as grandfathering, shall submit a new application showing 

the individual met the requirements of the applicable 

examination or training waiver provision, demonstrate five 

years of licensed experience, and pass the required 

examination: 

a. Any person who was exempted from examination for 

licensure as a barber, as such person was engaged in the 

practice of barbering on or before July 1, 1966, in any 

establishment or place of business within which the 

practice of barbering was carried on by only one barber, 

and such person filed an application with the board on or 

before January 1, 1967. 

b. Any person exempted from examination as a registered 

professional hair dresser, as such person was substantially 

engaged as a hairdresser in Virginia for at least nine 

months prior to June 29, 1962, and such person filed an 

application satisfactory to the board on or before July 1, 

1963. 

c. Any person exempted from training requirements for 

licensure as a nail technician, as such person had 

experience or training as a nail technician, and such person 

applied to the board for examination by October 1, 1991. 

d. Any person exempted from examination as a wax 

technician pursuant to § 54.1-703.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency41/chapter50/section20/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/admincode/title18/agency41/chapter60/section20/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title54.1/chapter7/section54.1-703.3/
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C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall provide 

(i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the expiration date 

and (ii) a notarized statement that all students currently 

enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been notified in 

writing that the school's license has expired. All of these 

materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the school 

and if the school's records are maintained in accordance with 

18VAC41-20-240 and 18VAC41-20-250 by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation. Pursuant to 

18VAC41-20-130, upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, 

application package, and inspection results, the board may 

reinstate the school's license or require requalification or both. 

If the reinstatement application package and reinstatement fee 

are not received by the board within six months following the 

expiration date of the school's license, the board will notify the 

testing service that prospective graduates of the unlicensed 

school are not acceptable candidates for the examination. Such 

notification will be sent to the school and must be displayed in 

a conspicuous manner by the school in an area that is accessible 

to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 

examination because the school was not licensed for a portion 

of the time the student attended if the school license is 

reinstated by the board. 

D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of 

a license or certificate is applicable. 

E. When a license or certificate is reinstated, the licensee or 

certificate holder shall be assigned an expiration date two years 

from the date of the last day of the month of reinstatement. 

F. A licensee or certificate holder that reinstates its license or 

certificate shall be regarded as having been continuously 

licensed or certified without interruption. Therefore, a licensee 

or certificate holder shall be subject to the authority of the 

board for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 

G. A licensee or certificate holder that fails to reinstate its 

license or certificate shall be regarded as unlicensed or 

uncertified from the expiration date of the license or certificate 

forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a licensee or certificate holder for a 

violation of the law or regulations during the period of time for 

which the individual was licensed or certified. 

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew. 

A. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer fails to renew his license within 

30 days following its expiration date, the licensee shall meet 

the renewal requirements and apply for reinstatement of the 

license by submitting to the Department of Professional and 

Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer fails to renew his license within 

two years following the expiration date, reinstatement is no 

longer possible. To resume practice, the: 

1. The former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant, shall meet all current application requirements, 

shall pass the board's current examination, and shall receive 

a new license. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under an 

examination exemption, known as grandfathering, pursuant 

to 18VAC41-50-20 A 6, shall submit a new application 

showing the individual met the requirements of the 

applicable examination waiver provision, demonstrate five 

years of licensed experience, and pass the required 

examination. 

C. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees. 

D. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements. 

E. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, the licensee shall be required to apply for 

reinstatement of the license by submitting to the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement 

application along with the required renewal and reinstatement 

fees. 

F. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements. 

G. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of 

a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

H. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license. 

I. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as 

having been continuously licensed without interruption. 

Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the authority of the 

board for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 22  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 19, 2023  

2604 

J. A licensee who fails to reinstate his license shall be 

regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license 

forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the individual 

was licensed. 

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renew. 

A. When a body piercer or body piercer ear only fails to renew 

their license within 30 days following its expiration date, the 

licensee shall meet the renewal requirements prescribed in 

18VAC41-60-130 and apply for reinstatement of the license by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation a reinstatement application along with the required 

renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When a body piercer or body piercer ear only fails to renew 

his license within two years following the expiration date, 

reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume practice, the: 

1. The former body-piercer licensee shall apply for licensure 

as a new applicant, shall meet all current application 

requirements, shall pass the board's current examination, and 

shall receive a new license. To resume practice, the former 

body-piercer ear only licensee shall apply for licensure as a 

new applicant, shall meet all current application 

requirements, and shall receive a new license. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under an 

examination exemption, known as grandfathering, pursuant 

to 18VAC41-60-20 A 6 shall submit a new application 

showing the individual met the requirements of the 

applicable examination waiver provision, demonstrate five 

years of licensed experience, and pass the required 

examination. 

C. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees. 

D. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements. 

E. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of 

a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

F. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license. 

G. A licensee who reinstates his license shall be regarded as 

having been continuously licensed without interruption. 

Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the authority of the 

board for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 

H. A licensee who fails to reinstate his license shall be 

regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license 

forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the individual 

was licensed. 

18VAC41-70-160. Failure to renew. 

A. When a licensee fails to renew its license within 30 days 

following its expiration date, the licensee shall apply for 

reinstatement of the license by submitting to the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement 

application and renewal fee and reinstatement fee. 

B. When a licensee fails to renew its license within two years 

following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the: 

1. The former licensee or certificate holder shall apply for 

licensure or certification as a new applicant and shall meet 

all current entry requirements for each respective license or 

certificate. Individuals applying for licensure under this 

section shall be eligible to apply for a temporary license 

from the board under 18VAC41-70-70. 

2. An individual initially granted licensure under an 

examination exemption, known as grandfathering, pursuant 

to § 54.1-703.3 of the Code of Virginia shall submit a new 

application showing the individual met the requirements of 

the applicable examination waiver provision, demonstrate 

five years of licensed experience, and pass the required 

examination. 

C. The application for reinstatement for a school shall provide 

(i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the expiration date 

and (ii) a notarized statement that all students currently 

enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been notified in 

writing that the school's license has expired. All of these 

materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the school 

and if the school's records are maintained in accordance with 

18VAC41-70-230 and 18VAC41-70-240. Upon receipt of the 

reinstatement fee, application package, and inspection results, 

the board may reinstate the school's license or, require 

requalification, or both. If the reinstatement application 

package and reinstatement fee are not received by the board 

within six months following the expiration date of the school's 

license, the board will notify the testing service that 

prospective graduates of the unlicensed school are not 

acceptable candidates for the examination. Such notification 

will be sent to the school and must be displayed in a 

conspicuous manner by the school in an area that is accessible 
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to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 

examination because the school was not licensed for a portion 

of the time the student attended if the school license is 

reinstated by the board. 

D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of 

a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

E. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license. 

F. A licensee that reinstates its license shall be regarded as 

having been continuously licensed without interruption. 

Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the authority of the 

board for activities performed prior to reinstatement. 

G. A licensee that fails to reinstate its license shall be 

regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the license 

forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board of its 

authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law or 

regulations during the period of time for which the individual 

or business entity was licensed. 

VA.R. Doc. No. R23-7515; Filed May 30, 2023, 4:21 p.m. 

Final Regulation 

Titles of Regulations: 18VAC41-50. Tattooing Regulations 

(amending 18VAC41-50-10 through 18VAC41-50-40, 

18VAC41-50-80, 18VAC41-50-100 through 18VAC41-50-

130, 18VAC41-50-150, 18VAC41-50-160, 18VAC41-50-

180, 18VAC41-50-210, 18VAC41-50-230, 18VAC41-50-

250, 18VAC41-50-280, 18VAC41-50-290, 18VAC41-50-

310, 18VAC41-50-360 through 18VAC41-50-420; adding 

18VAC41-50-91, 18VAC41-50-92, 18VAC41-50-93; 

repealing 18VAC41-50-50, 18VAC41-50-60, 18VAC41-50-

90, 18VAC41-50-240, 18VAC41-50-260, 18VAC41-50-270, 

18VAC41-50-320, 18VAC41-50-340, 18VAC41-50-350). 

18VAC41-60. Body-Piercing Regulations (amending 

18VAC41-60-10 through 18VAC41-60-40, 18VAC41-60-

80, 18VAC41-60-110, 18VAC41-60-120, 18VAC41-60-140, 

18VAC41-60-190, 18VAC41-60-200, 18VAC41-60-220; 

repealing 18VAC41-60-50, 18VAC41-60-60). 

Statutory Authority: § 54.1-201 of the Code of Virginia. 

Effective Date: September 1, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Kelley Smith, Executive Director, Board for 

Barbers and Cosmetology, 9960 Mayland Drive, Suite 400, 

Richmond, VA 23233, telephone (804) 367-8590, FAX (866) 

245-9693, or email barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov. 

Summary: 

The amendments make several changes, including (i) adding 

the definition for "responsible management," (ii) repealing 

the limited-term tattooer license, (iii) adding a two-week 

guest tattooer license; (iv) updating the training 

requirements for tattoo schools and tattoo instructors; and 

(v) establishing a curriculum for master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing instruction. 

Summary of Public Comments and Agency's Response: A 

summary of comments made by the public and the agency's 

response may be obtained from the promulgating agency or 

viewed at the office of the Registrar of Regulations. 

18VAC41-50-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated 

in this chapter. 

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved tattooing 

training program conducted by an approved apprenticeship 

sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to 

conduct tattooing apprenticeship training who meets the 

qualifications in 18VAC41-50-70. 

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents 

and hinders the direct transfer of microorganisms, regardless 

of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person 

or place. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law. 

"Convention tattooer" means a tattooer residing outside 

Virginia who is licensed to work only at a tattoo convention 

located in Virginia.  

"Direct supervision" means (i) that a Virginia licensed 

tattooer shall be present in the tattoo parlor at all times when 

services are being performed by an apprentice [ ,; ] (ii) that a 

Virginia licensed [ and certified ] tattooing instructor shall be 

present in the tattooing school at all times when services are 

being performed by a student [ , or; ] (iii) that a Virginia 

licensed [ and certified ] permanent cosmetic tattooing 

instructor shall be present in the permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school at all times when services are being performed by a 

student [ ; (iv) that a Virginia licensed and certified master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer instructor shall be present in the 

permanent cosmetic tattooing school at all times when master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer services are being performed by a 

student; or (v) that a Virginia licensed tattooer shall be present 

in the tattoo parlor at all times when services are being 

performed by a guest tattooer ]. 

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state [ or 

jurisdiction of the United States ]. 

mailto:barbercosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
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"Event tattoo parlor" means a tattoo parlor temporary location 

licensed to operate for a maximum of five consecutive days. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code 

Virginia means providing tattooing services without receiving 

compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous services do 

not include services provided at no charge when goods are 

purchased. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

limited liability company, or corporation holding a license 

issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology as defined 

in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Guest tattooer" means a tattooer [ or, ] permanent cosmetic 

tattooer [ , or master permanent cosmetic tattooer ] residing 

outside of Virginia who is licensed only to work for a two-

week period at a specified tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic 

tattoo salon. 

"Guest tattooer sponsor" means a licensed tattoo parlor or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that is sponsoring and 

providing direct supervision of a guest tattooer. 

"Licensee" means any person, sole proprietorship, 

partnership, association, corporation, limited liability 

company, or corporation limited liability partnership, or any 

other form of organization permitted by law holding a license 

issued by the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology, as defined 

in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Limited term tattooer" means a tattooer licensed to perform 

tattooing for a maximum of five consecutive days in an 

organized event or in a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor.  

"Limited term tattoo parlor" means a tattoo parlor temporary 

location licensed to operate for a maximum of five consecutive 

days. 

"Master permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who 

for compensation practices permanent cosmetic tattooing 

known in the industry as advanced permanent cosmetic 

tattooing, including but not limited to cheek blush, [ scalp 

micropigmentation, ] eye shadow [ , ] and breast and scar 

repigmentation or camouflage. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattoo salon" means any place in which 

permanent cosmetic tattooing is offered or practiced for 

compensation. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooer" means any person who for 

compensation practices permanent cosmetic tattooing known 

in the industry as basic permanent cosmetic tattooing, 

including but not limited to eyebrows, microblading, [ scalp 

micropigmentation, ] eyeliners, lip coloring, lip liners, or full 

lips. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing" means placing marks upon or 

under the skin of any person with ink or any other substance, 

resulting in the permanent coloration of the skin on the face, 

including but not limited to eyebrows, eyeliners, lip coloring, 

lip liners, full lips, cheek blush, eye shadow, forehead and 

scalp micropigmentation, and on the body for breast and scar 

repigmentation or camouflage;, also known as permanent 

make-up makeup or micropigmentation. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor" means a person 

who has been certified by the board who meets the competency 

standards of the board as an instructor of permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. 

"Permanent cosmetic tattooing school" means a place or 

establishment licensed by the board to accept and train students 

and offers a permanent cosmetic tattooing curriculum 

approved by the board. 

"Pigments" means tattooing ink designed for use on human 

skin. 

"Post-secondary educational level" means an accredited 

college or university that is approved or accredited by an 

accrediting agency [ that is ] recognized by the U.S. 

Department of Education. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 

another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the 

laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under [ his that individual's ] own name or under 

an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of 

§§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate 

from workstations with restricted client access in which 

tattooing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized. 

"Tattoo convention" means an event where Virginia and out-

of-state tattooers gather for no more than five consecutive days 

to offer tattooing services to the public. 
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"Tattooing instructor" means a person who has been certified 

by the board who meets the competency standards of the board 

as an instructor of tattooing. 

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which 

tattooing is performed for a specified length of time of not 

more than five days in conjunction with a single event or 

celebration [ convention ]. 

18VAC41-50-20. General requirements for tattooer, 

limited term tattooer, convention guest tattooer, 

permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. 

A. In order to receive a license as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer Any individual wishing to engage in 

tattooing, limited term guest tattooing, permanent cosmetic 

tattooing, or master permanent cosmetic tattooing shall obtain 

a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of 

Virginia, an applicant must and meet the following 

qualifications: 

1. The applicant must be in good standing as a tattooer, 

limited term tattooer, convention guest tattooer, permanent 

cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in 

every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

another Virginia or any other jurisdiction in connection with 

the applicant's practice as a tattooer, limited term guest 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. This disclosure includes monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure whether if [ he 

the applicant ] has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

tattooer, limited term guest tattooer, permanent cosmetic 

tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in tattooing, convention tattooing, guest tattooing, 

permanent cosmetic tattooing, or master permanent 

cosmetic tattooing. The board will decide each case by 

taking into account the totality of the circumstances. Any 

plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of 

a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 

agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 

order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 

action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and the 

board's tattooing regulations this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

each applicant must not have been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor that 

directly relates to the profession of tattooing. The board shall 

have the authority to determine, based upon all the 

information available, including the applicant's record of 

prior convictions, if the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in the profession of tattooing. The board will decide 

each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purposes of this section. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree or case decision by a court or regulatory agency with 

the lawful authority to issue such order, decree or case 

decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima facie 

evidence of such conviction. This record shall be forwarded 

by the applicant to the board within 10 days after all appeal 

rights have expired. shall disclose the following information 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date 

of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service. 

6. Persons who (i) make application for licensure between 

October 1, 2006, and September 30, 2007; (ii) have 

completed three years of documented work experience 

within the preceding five years as a tattooer; and (iii) have 

completed a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to bloodborne disease, sterilization, 

and aseptic techniques related to tattooing and first aid and 

CPR that is acceptable to the board are not required to 

complete subdivision 5 of this subsection.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved examination. 
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1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. a. Any person 

completing an approved tattooing apprenticeship program in 

a Virginia licensed tattoo parlor or completing an approved 

tattooing training program in a Virginia licensed school of 

tattooing, [ tattoo school ] or completing a permanent 

cosmetic tattooing or master permanent cosmetic tattooing 

training program in a Virginia licensed permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be eligible to sit for the applicable 

examination. 

b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training that is acceptable to the board shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. Training should be 

conducted in a permanent facility. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States [ or jurisdiction of the United States 

] and its territories. a. Any person completing a tattooing, or 

permanent cosmetic tattooing training, [ or ] master 

permanent cosmetic tattooing training program, or tattooing 

apprenticeship program, that is substantially equivalent to 

the Virginia program but is outside of the Commonwealth of 

Virginia must submit to the board documentation of the 

successful completion of training or apprenticeship to be 

eligible for examination. If less than the required hours of 

tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing training or 

tattooing apprenticeship was were completed, an applicant 

must submit (i) documentation acceptable to the board 

verifying the completion of a substantially equivalent 

tattooing training [ or, ] tattooing apprenticeship [ or, ] 

permanent cosmetic tattooing training [ , or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooing ] or documentation of three 

years of work experience within the preceding five years as 

a tattooer, and (ii) documentation of completion of a 

minimum of five hours of health education to include but not 

limited to blood-borne disease (a) bloodborne pathogens, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing and; 

(b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable to the board in 

order to be eligible for examination. 

b. Any person completing master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing training that is acceptable to the board shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. Training should be 

conducted in a permanent facility. 

18VAC41-50-30. License by endorsement. 

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a 

training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is 

substantially equivalent to that required by this chapter may be 

issued a tattooer license, permanent cosmetic tattooer license, 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license, respectively, 

without an examination. The applicant must also meet the 

requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 4. 

18VAC41-50-40. Examination requirements and fees. 

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination 

approved by the board. The examinations may be administered 

by the board or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee. 

C. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

D. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within 

one year of the initial examination date shall be required to 

submit a new application. 

E. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

F. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing the written examination shall be required 

to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 

maintained for a maximum of five years.  

18VAC41-50-50. Reexamination requirements. 

(Repealed.) 

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one 

year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit 

a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-50-60. Examination administration. (Repealed.) 

A. The examinations may be administered by the board or the 

designated testing service.  

B. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 
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compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

18VAC41-50-80. Tattoo parlor, limited term event tattoo 

parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor, 

limited term event tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salon shall obtain a tattoo parlor license, limited term event 

tattoo parlor license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed parlor 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, limited term event 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or practice 

of the profession. This disclosure includes monetary 

penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a 

license in connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 

or any member of the responsible management has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as a tattoo parlor, limited 

term event tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a tattoo parlor, limited term event tattoo 

parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. The board will 

decide each case by taking into account the totality of the 

circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable 

plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for the 

purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide a 

certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by a 

court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose [ his the applicant's ] physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date 

of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. A tattoo parlor license, limited term event tattoo parlor 

license, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license shall not be 

transferable and shall bear the same name and address of the 

business. Any changes in the name, or address, or ownership 

of the parlor or salon shall be reported to the board in writing 

within 30 days of such changes. [ New owners The new 

responsible management ] shall be responsible for reporting 

such changes in writing to the board applying for a new license 

within 30 days of the changes. 

C. In the event of a closing of a tattoo parlor or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon, the board must be notified by the owners 

in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the license must 

be returned by the owners to the board. Whenever the legal 

business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered to 

form a new business entity, the original license becomes void 

and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the change. 

Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license within 30 

days of the change in the business entity. Such changes 

include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 
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E. Any tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

wishing to host a guest tattooer must identify itself as the guest 

tattooer sponsor and must provide direct supervision of any 

tattooing by the guest tattooer. 

D. F. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattoo parlor 

in a temporary location must have a tattoo parlor license or 

limited term event tattoo parlor license issued by the board. 

E. G. A limited term An event tattoo parlor license is effective 

for five consecutive days [ prior to the expiration date ]. 

F. H. A person or entity firm may obtain a maximum of five 

limited term event tattoo parlor licenses within a calendar year. 

G. I. A person or entity firm may obtain a maximum of two 

limited term tattoo parlor licenses within a 30 consecutive days 

time period. 

18VAC41-50-90. Limited term tattooer license. (Repealed.) 

A. A limited term tattooer license is effective for five 

consecutive days prior to the expiration date.  

B. A person may obtain a maximum of five limited term 

tattooer licenses within a calendar year.  

C. A person may obtain a maximum of two limited term 

tattooer licenses within a 30 consecutive days time period.  

D. A limited term tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

but not limited to blood-borne disease, sterilization, and 

aseptic techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and CPR 

that is acceptable to the board.  

E. A limited term tattooer applicant is not required to 

complete 18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

18VAC41-50-91. Convention Guest tattooer license.  

A. A convention tattooer license shall expire one year from 

the last day of the month in which it was issued.  

B. A convention tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 

acceptable to the board.  

C. A convention tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

A. A guest tattooer license is effective for 14 days prior to the 

expiration date. 

B. An out-of-state resident may obtain up to five guest 

tattooer licenses per calendar year. 

C. A guest tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 

acceptable to the board.  

4. Documentation showing guest tattooer sponsor, including 

signature of sponsor parlor's responsible management. 

D. A guest tattooer must provide the name and license number 

of the guest tattooer's sponsor and the duration of the guest 

tattooer's tattooing for all guest tattooer locations. 

E. A guest tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5. 

18VAC41-50-92. Guest tattooer sponsor.  

A. A guest tattooer license is effective for 14 days prior to the 

expiration date. 

B. An out-of-state resident may obtain up to three guest 

tattooer licenses per calendar year. 

C. A guest tattooer applicant must meet the following 

qualifications:  

1. Requirements set forth in 18VAC41-50-20 A 1 through A 

4.  

2. Present documentation showing out-of-state residency. 

3. Documentation of health education knowledge to include 

(i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR that is 

acceptable to the board.  

4. Documentation showing guest tattooer sponsor including 

signature of sponsor parlor's responsible management. 

D. A guest tattooer applicant is not required to complete 

18VAC41-50-20 A 5.  

A. The licensed tattoo parlor [ that agrees to sponsor 

sponsoring ] a guest tattooer shall ensure that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer license for the entire 

duration of [ his the guest tattooer ] tattooing at the parlor. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 



Regulations 

Volume 39, Issue 22  Virginia Register of Regulations  June 19, 2023  

2611 

B. The licensed permanent cosmetic [ tattooing tattoo salon 

that agrees to sponsor sponsoring ] a guest tattooer shall ensure 

that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer licensed for the entire 

duration of [ his the guest tattooer's ] tattooing at the salon. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer or permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

C. With the exception of tattoo conventions, a member of the 

guest tattooer sponsor's responsible management must sign the 

guest tattooer application certifying the sponsor will ensure the 

requirements of subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The guest tattooer sponsor shall be responsible for the acts 

or omissions of the guest tattooer in the performance of 

tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

18VAC41-50-93. Guest tattooer sponsor.  

A. The licensed tattoo parlor that agrees to sponsor a guest 

tattooer shall ensure that the guest tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer license for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the parlor. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

B. The licensed permanent cosmetic tattooing salon that 

agrees to sponsor a guest tattooer shall ensure that the guest 

tattooer: 

1. Has a valid, current guest tattooer licensed for the entire 

duration of his tattooing at the salon. 

2. Is directly supervised by a licensed tattooer or permanent 

cosmetic tattooer. 

3. Complies with all Virginia regulations relating to health, 

sanitation, client qualifications, and standards of practice. 

C. The guest tattooer sponsor's responsible management must 

sign the guest tattooer application certifying the sponsor will 

ensure the requirements of subsections A and B of this section. 

D. The guest tattooer sponsor shall be responsible for the acts 

or omissions of the guest tattooer in the performance of 

tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

18VAC41-50-100. School license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a tattooing school 

or permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall obtain a school 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.2 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed parlor 

or salon in Virginia and all other jurisdictions where 

licensed. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions in connection with the 

applicant's operation of any tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, 

or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or practice of the 

profession. This disclosure includes monetary penalties, 

fines, suspensions, revocations, surrender of a license in 

connection with a disciplinary action, or voluntary 

termination of a license. The applicant shall disclose to the 

board at the time of application for licensure if the applicant 

or any member of the responsible management has been 

previously licensed in Virginia as a tattoo parlor, event tattoo 

parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a tattoo parlor, event tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon. The board will decide each 

case by taking into account the totality of the circumstances. 

Any plea of nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be 

considered a disciplinary action for the purposes of this 

subdivision. The applicant shall provide a certified copy of 

a final order, decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory 

agency, or board with the lawful authority to issue such 

order, decree, or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such disciplinary 

action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose [ his the applicant's ] physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia tattooing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date 

of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 
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evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management. 

B. A tattooing school license or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 

name and address as the school. Any changes in the name or 

address of the school shall be reported to the board in writing 

within 30 days of such change. The name of the school must 

indicate that it is an educational institution. All signs or other 

advertisements must reflect the name as indicated on the 

license issued by the board and contain language indicating it 

is an educational institution. 

C. In the event of a change of ownership of a school, the new 

owners shall be responsible for reporting such changes in 

writing to the board within 30 days of the changes. Whenever 

the legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or 

altered to form a new business entity, the original license 

becomes void and shall be returned to the board within 30 days 

of the change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new 

license within 30 days of the change in the business entity. 

Such changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. In the event of a school closing, the board must be notified 

by the owners in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the 

license must be returned. Within 30 days of the closing, the 

school shall return the license to the board and provide a 

written report to the board on performances and hours of each 

student who has not completed the program. 

E. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

18VAC41-50-110. Tattooing instructor certificate. 

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set forth 

in this section shall be eligible for a tattooing instructor 

certificate if the person: 

1. Holds a current Virginia tattooer license; and 

2. Provides documentation of three years of work experience 

within the past legally tattooing for at least five years; and  

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques in a post-

secondary education level. 

B. Tattooing instructors shall be required to maintain a 

tattooer license. 

18VAC41-50-120. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor 

certificate. 

A. Upon filing an application with the Board for Barbers and 

Cosmetology, any person meeting the qualifications set forth 

in this section shall be eligible for a permanent cosmetic 

tattooing instructor certificate if the person: 

1. Holds a current Virginia permanent cosmetic tattooer 

license or master permanent cosmetic tattooer license; and 

2. Provides documentation of three years of work experience 

within the past legally tattooing for at least five years; and 

3. Passes a course on teaching techniques at the post-

secondary education level. 

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors shall be required 

to maintain a permanent cosmetic tattooer license or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer license. 

18VAC41-50-130. Fees. 

The following fees apply: 

FEE TYPE 

AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2022, through August 

31, 2024 

AMOUNT DUE 

September 1, 2024, and after 
WHEN DUE 

Individuals: 

Application $90 $105 With application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$90 $105 With application 
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Renewal $90 $105 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

Reinstatement 

$180* 

*includes $90 renewal fee and $90 

reinstatement fee 

$210* 

*includes $105 renewal fee and $105 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Instructors: 

Application $110 $125 With application 

License by 

Endorsement 
$110 $125 With application 

Renewal $110 $150 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

Reinstatement 

$220* 

*includes $110 renewal fee and $110 

reinstatement fee 

$300* 

*includes $150 renewal fee and $150 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Parlors or salons: 

Application $165 $190 With application 

Renewal $165 $190 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

Reinstatement 

$330* 

*includes $165 renewal fee and $165 

reinstatement fee 

$380* 

*includes $190 renewal fee and $190 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Schools: 

Application $185 $220 With application 

Renewal $185 $220 
With renewal card prior to 

expiration date 

Reinstatement 

$370* 

*includes $185 renewal fee and $185 

reinstatement fee 

$440* 

*includes $220 renewal fee and $220 

reinstatement fee 

With reinstatement 

application 

Part IV 

Renewal/Reinstatement Renewal and Reinstatement  

18VAC41-50-150. License renewal required. 

All tattooer 1. A. Tattooer licenses, tattoo parlor licenses, 

tattooing instructors [ licenses certificates ], tattooing schools 

licenses, permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licenses, permanent cosmetic 

tattoo salon licenses, [ permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor 

certificate, ] and permanent cosmetic tattooing schools licenses 

shall expire two years from the last day of the month in which 

they were issued. 

2. Convention tattooer licenses shall expire one year from the 

last day of the month in which it was issued. 
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3. B. Guest tattooer licenses will expire 14 days after the 

effective date of the license and may not be renewed. 

18VAC41-50-160. Continuing education requirement. 

All licensed tattooers, permanent cosmetic tattooers, and 

master permanent cosmetic tattooers shall be required to 

satisfactorily complete a minimum of five hours of health 

education to include but not limited to (i) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to tattooing, [ ; ] 

(ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. 

Documentation of training completion shall be provided at the 

time of renewal along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-50-180. Failure to renew. 

A. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licensed or certified individual or 

business entity fails to renew his its license within 30 days 

following its the expiration date of the license, the licensee 

shall meet the renewal requirements as prescribed in 

18VAC41-50-170 and apply for reinstatement of the license by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation a reinstatement application along with the required 

renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When a tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer licensed or certified individual or 

business entity fails to renew his its license within two years 

following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former licensee shall apply 

for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all current 

application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination, and shall receive a new license. 

C. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

D. When a tattoo parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon 

fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements.  

E. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, the licensee shall be required to apply for 

reinstatement of the license by submitting to the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement 

application along with the required renewal and reinstatement 

fees.  

F. When a tattooing school or permanent cosmetic tattooing 

school fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements.  

C. The application for reinstatement for a school [ license ] 

shall provide (i) the reasons for failing to renew prior to the 

expiration date, and (ii) a notarized statement that all students 

currently enrolled or seeking to enroll at the school have been 

notified in writing that the school's license has expired. All of 

these materials shall be called the application package. 

Reinstatement will be considered by the board if the school 

consents to and satisfactorily passes an inspection of the school 

and if the school's records are maintained in accordance with 

18VAC41-50-250 and 18VAC41-50-330. Pursuant to 

18VAC41-50-100, 18VAC41-50-230, and 18VAC41-50-310 

upon receipt of the reinstatement fee, application package, and 

inspection results, the board may reinstate the school's license 

or require requalification or both. If the reinstatement 

application package and reinstatement fee are not received by 

the board within six months following the expiration date of 

the school's license, the board will notify the testing service 

that prospective graduates of the unlicensed school are not 

acceptable candidates for the examination. Such notification 

will be sent to the school and must be displayed in a 

conspicuous manner by the school in an area that is accessible 

to the public. No student shall be disqualified from taking the 

examination because the school was not licensed for a portion 

of the time the student attended if the school license is 

reinstated by the board. 

G. D. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department 

of Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will 

be used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement 

of a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

H. E. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license date 

of the last day of the month of reinstatement. 

I. F. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement. 

J. G. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license shall 

be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 

of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law 

or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual was licensed. 

18VAC41-50-210. Hours of instruction and performances. 

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-200 

shall be taught over a minimum of 1500 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivisions 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 of 18VAC41-50-200; 
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2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivision 3 of 18VAC41-50-200; and 

3. The remaining 1000 hours shall be devoted to practical 

training to include [ but not limited to ] apprenticeship 

curriculum requirements and a total minimum of 100 

performances pertaining to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-50-

200. 

B. An approved tattooing apprenticeship program may 

conduct an assessment of an apprentice's competence in the 

theory and practical requirements for tattooing and, based on 

the assessment, give a maximum of 700 hours of credit 

[ towards toward ] the requirements in subdivisions A 1 and A 

3 of this section. No credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours 

required in subdivision A 2 of this section. 

18VAC41-50-230. General requirements. 

A tattooing school shall: 

1. Hold a tattooing school license for each and every 

location. 

2. Hold a tattoo parlor license if the school receives 

compensation for services provided in the area where 

practical instruction is conducted and services are provided. 

3. Employ a staff of [ licensed and ] certified tattooing 

instructors. 

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in 

tattooing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. All changes to 

curricula must be resubmitted and approved by the board. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the tattooing school receives compensation for 

services provided in its clinic by posting a notice in the 

reception area of the shop or salon in plain view of the 

public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from 

the area where practical instruction is conducted and 

services are provided. 

8. Conduct all instruction and training of [ tattooers students 

] under the direct supervision of a [ licensed and ] certified 

tattooing instructor. 

18VAC41-50-240. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each tattooing school approved by the board shall identify 

itself to the public as a teaching institution.  

18VAC41-50-250. Records. 

A. Schools are required to keep upon graduation, termination, 

or withdrawal, written records of hours and performances 

showing what instruction a student has received for a period of 

five years after the student terminates or completes the 

curriculum of the school. These records shall be available for 

inspection by the [ department Department of Professional and 

Occupation Regulation ]. All records must be kept on the 

premises of each school. 

B. For a period of five years after a student completes the 

curriculum, terminates, or withdraws from the school, schools 

are required to provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by a student upon receipt of a written 

request from the student. 

C. Schools shall within 21 days upon receipt of a written 

request from a student provide documentation of hours and 

performances completed by the student as required to be 

maintained by subsection A of this section. 

D. Prior to a school changing ownership or a school closing, 

the schools are required to provide to current students 

documentation of hours and performances completed. 

D. E. For a period of one year after a school changes 

ownership, schools are required to provide documentation of 

hours and performances completed by a current student upon 

receipt of a written request from the student. 

18VAC41-50-260. Hours reported. (Repealed.) 

Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed tattooing school 

for any reason, the school shall provide a written report to the 

board on performances and hours of each of its students who 

has not completed the program.  

18VAC41-50-270. Health education. (Repealed.) 

Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall be 

required to provide documentation of satisfactory completion 

of a minimum of five hours of health education to include but 

not limited to blood-borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing, and first aid and CPR.  

18VAC41-50-280. Tattooing school curriculum 

requirements. 

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the tattooing school shall 

be required to provide documentation of satisfactory 

completion of a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include (i) bloodborne disease, sterilization, and aseptic 

techniques related to tattooing; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR.  

B. Tattooing school curriculum requirements are as follows: 

1. Microbiology. 

a. Microorganisms, viruses, bacteria, fungus; 

b. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases; and 

c. Characteristics of antimicrobial agents. 

2. Immunization. 

a. Types of immunizations; 

b. Hepatitis A—G A through G transmission and 

immunization; 

c. HIV/AIDS; 
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d. Tetanus, streptococcal, zoonotic, tuberculosis, 

pneumococcal, and influenza; 

e. Measles, mumps, and rubella; 

f. Vaccines and immunization; and 

g. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the 

tattooer and client. 

3. Sanitation and disinfection. 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation. 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and 

techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, disinfectants, 

and fumigants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Postservice sanitation procedure. 

4. Safety. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. How to avoid overexposure to chemicals; 

c. The use of Material Safety Data Sheets; 

d. Blood spill procedures; 

e. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

f. First aid and CPR. 

5. Blood-borne Bloodborne pathogen standards. 

a. OSHA and CDC blood-borne bloodborne pathogen 

standards; 

b. Control plan for blood-borne bloodborne pathogens; 

c. Exposure control plan for tattooers; 

d. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

e. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

6. Professional standards. 

a. History of tattooing; 

b. Ethics; 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; 

(2) Consent forms; and 

(3) HIPAA (Health Insurance Portability and 

Accountability Act of 1996 Privacy Rule) Standards.; 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, parlor ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients 

of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the parlor and establishing 

clientele.; 

e. Parlor management. 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes.; and 

f. Supplies. 

(1) Usages; 

(2) Ordering; and 

(3) Storage. 

7. Tattooing. 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

f. Implement selection and use; 

g. Proper use of equipment; 

h. Material selection and use; 

i. Needles: 

(1) Groupings; 

(2) Properties; and 

(3) Making; 

j. Ink; 

k. Machine: 

(1) Construction; 

(2) Adjustment; and 

(3) Power supply; 

l. Art, drawing; and 

m. Portfolio. 

8. Anatomy. 

a. Understanding of skin; and 

b. Parts and functions of skin. 

9. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

C. A licensed tattoo school may conduct an assessment of a 

student's competence in the respective profession and, based 

on the assessment, give credit toward the hours requirements 

specified in this section and 18VAC41-50-290.  

The school shall make the assessment based on a review of 

the student's transcript and the successful completion of a 

board-approved competency examination administered by the 

school. The school may also request a copy of a catalog or 

bulletin giving the full course description when making the 

evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not 
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exceed the actual hours of instruction verified on the transcript 

or the number of hours specified in the board-approved 

curriculum for a specific topic. Credit may only be given for 

in-person training. 

18VAC41-50-290. Hours of instruction and performances. 

A. Curriculum requirements specified in 18VAC41-50-280 

shall be taught over a minimum of 750 1,000 hours as follows: 

1. 350 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

subdivisions 18VAC41-50-280 B 1, 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, and 9 of 

18VAC41-50-280; 

2. 150 hours shall be devoted to theory pertaining to 

[ subdivision 3 of ] 18VAC41-50-280 [ B 3 ]; and 

3. The remaining 250 500 hours shall be devoted to practical 

training to include but not limited to tattooing curriculum 

requirements and a total minimum of 100 performances 

pertaining to subdivision 7 of 18VAC41-50-280 B 7. 

B. An approved tattooing school may conduct an assessment 

of a student's competence in the theory and practical 

requirements for tattooing and, based on the assessment, give 

a maximum of 350 700 hours of credit towards toward the 

requirements in subdivisions A 1 and A 3 of this section. No 

credit shall be allowed for the 150 hours required in 

subdivision A 2 of this section. 

[ C. Individuals enrolled in a program prior to July 1, 2022, 

may complete the program at the hours in effect at the time 

they enrolled. ] 

18VAC41-50-310. General requirements. 

A permanent cosmetic tattooing school shall: 

1. Hold a permanent cosmetic tattooing school license for 

each and every location. 

2. Hold a permanent cosmetic tattoo salon license if the 

school receives compensation for services provided in the 

area where practical instruction is conducted and services 

are provided. 

3. Employ a staff of [ licensed and ] certified permanent 

cosmetic tattooing instructors or [ licensed and ] certified 

master permanent cosmetic tattooing instructors. 

4. Develop individuals for entry-level competency in 

permanent cosmetic tattooing or master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. 

5. Submit its curricula for board approval. 

6. Inform the public that all services are performed by 

students if the permanent cosmetic tattooing school receives 

compensation for services provided in its clinic by posting a 

notice in the reception area of the shop or salon in plain view 

of the public. 

7. Conduct classroom instruction in an area separate from 

the area where practical instruction is conducted and 

services are provided. 

8. Conduct all instruction and training of permanent 

cosmetic tattooers under the direct supervision of a [ licensed 

and ] certified permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor or a 

[ licensed and ] certified master permanent cosmetic 

tattooing instructor.  

9. Conduct all instruction and training of master permanent 

cosmetic tattooers under the direct supervision of a [ licensed 

and ] certified master permanent cosmetic tattooing 

instructor. 

18VAC41-50-320. School identification. (Repealed.) 

Each permanent cosmetic tattooing school approved by the 

board shall identify itself to the public as a teaching institution.  

18VAC41-50-340. Hours reported. (Repealed.) 

Within 30 days of the closing of a licensed permanent 

cosmetic tattooing school for any reason, the school shall 

provide a written report to the board on performances and 

hours of each of its students who have not completed the 

program.  

18VAC41-50-350. Health education. (Repealed.) 

Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation of 

satisfactory completion of health education on blood-borne 

disease.  

18VAC41-50-360. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school 

curriculum requirements. 

A. Any person desiring to enroll in the permanent cosmetic 

tattooing school shall be required to provide documentation of 

satisfactory completion of health education on bloodborne 

disease.  

B. Permanent cosmetic tattooing school curriculum 

requirements are as follows: 

1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

2. Machines and devices. 

a. Coil machine; 

b. Hand device; and 

c. Others devices. 

3. Needles. 

a. Types; 

b. Uses; and 

c. Application. 

4. Anatomy. 

a. Layers of skin; 

b. Parts and functions of skin; and 
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c. Diseases. 

5. Color theory. 

a. Skin and pigment color; and 

b. Handling and storage of pigments. 

6. Transmission cycle of infectious diseases. 

7. Immunization. 

a. Types of immunizations; and 

b. General preventative measures to be taken to protect the 

tattooer and client. 

8. Sanitation and disinfection. 

a. Definition of terms: 

(1) Sterilization; 

(2) Disinfection and disinfectant; 

(3) Sterilizer or sterilant; 

(4) Antiseptic; 

(5) Germicide; 

(6) Decontamination; and 

(7) Sanitation.; 

b. The use of steam sterilization equipment and 

techniques; 

c. The use of chemical agents, antiseptics, and 

disinfectants; 

d. The use of sanitation equipment; 

e. Preservice sanitation procedure; and 

f. Postservice sanitation procedure. 

9. Safety. 

a. Proper needle handling and disposal; 

b. Blood spill procedures; 

c. Equipment and instrument storage; and 

d. First aid. 

10. Blood-borne Bloodborne pathogen standards. 

a. OSHA and CDC blood-borne bloodborne pathogen 

standards; 

b. Overview of compliance requirements; and 

c. Disorders and when not to service a client. 

11. Anesthetics. 

a. Use; 

b. Types; 

c. Application; and 

d. Removal. 

12. Equipment. 

a. Gloves; 

b. Masks; 

c. Apron; 

d. Chair; 

e. Lighting; and 

f. Work table. 

13. Professional standards. 

a. History of permanent cosmetic tattooing; 

b. Ethics; 

c. Recordkeeping: 

(1) Client health history; and 

(2) Consent forms.; 

d. Preparing station, making appointments, salon ethics: 

(1) Maintaining professional appearance, notifying clients 

of schedule changes; and 

(2) Promoting services of the salon and establishing 

clientele.; and 

e. Salon management: 

(1) Licensing requirements; and 

(2) Taxes. 

14. Permanent cosmetic tattooing. 

a. Client consultation; 

b. Client health form; 

c. Client disclosure form; 

d. Client preparation; 

e. Drawing and mapping; 

f. Sanitation and safety precautions; 

f. g. Implement selection and use; 

g. h. Proper use of equipment; 

h. i. Material selection and use.; 

i. j. Eyebrows; 

j. k. Microblading; 

l. Eyeliner; 

k. m. Lip coloring; [ and ]  

l. n. Lip liners [ ; and 

o. Scalp micropigmentation ]. 

C. Master permanent cosmetic tattooing program curriculum 

requirements are as follows: 

1. Virginia tattooing laws and regulations. 

2. Machines and devices: 

a. Coil machine; 

b. Hand device; and 

c. Others devices. 

3. Needles: 

a. Types; 

b. Uses; and 
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c. Application. 

4. Advanced practical clinical anatomy: 

a. Eyelid anatomy; 

b. Lip anatomy; and 

c. Breast anatomy. 

5. Advanced color theory. 

6. Organic and inorganic pigment. 

7. Understanding the surgical process: 

a. The latissimus dorsi flap procedure; 

b. Abdominoplasty and breast reconstruction; 

c. Other reconstruction procedures: 

(1) Deep inferior epigastric artery perforator [ Flap ] 

(DIEP) [ flap ]; and 

(2) Superior gluteal artery perforator [ Flap ] (DIEP) 

[ flap ]; 

d. Flap size versus areola size; and 

e. Implant reconstruction: 

(1) Tissue expansion; 

(2) Placing the implant; 

(3) Implant versus flap reconstruction; 

(4) Saline versus silicone; 

(5) Radiation therapy; and 

(6) [ Lyphedema Lymphedema ]. 

8. Client consultation. 

9. Breast areolar pigmentation: 

a. Chart notes; 

b. Health Insurance Portability and Accountability Act 

(HIPAA); 

c. Room setup; 

d. Anesthetic for breast procedures; 

e. Color selection; 

f. Needle selection; 

g. Design and placement; 

(1) Position of the areola/nipple complex; 

(2) The Penn Triangle; 

(3) Diameter of the areola; and 

(4) Nipple reconstruction; 

h. Creating three-dimensional nipple/areola; 

(1) Understanding and creating a reflection of light; and 

(2) The value of color; 

i. Covering scar tissue and periareolar scar blending; 

j. Aftercare; 

(1) [ Tegraderm Tegaderm ] aftercare instructions; and 

(2) Follow up; and 

k. Precautions and contraindications. 

10. Skin cancer: 

a. Basal cell carcinomas; 

b. Squamous cell carcinomas; [ and ] 

c. Melanoma. 

11. The art of camouflage: 

a. Client/patient selection and handling; 

b. Contraindications and when not to perform services; 

c. Skin tones; 

d. Color selection and skin tone matching; 

e. Scars; 

f. Burn scar; and 

g. Common needle configurations used for camouflage. 

12. Side effects. 

13. Insurance. 

14. Master permanent cosmetic tattooing procedures: 

a. Lip; 

b. Areola; 

[ c. Scalp;  

d. c. ] Blush; 

[ e. d. ] Camouflage; [ and ] 

[ f. e. ] Eyeshadow. 

D. A licensed school with an approved permanent cosmetic 

tattooing or master permanent cosmetic tattooing program may 

conduct an assessment of a student's competence in the 

respective profession and, based on the assessment, give credit 

[ towards toward ] the hours requirements specified in the 

respective subsection of this section and 18VAC41-50-370. 

The school shall make the assessment based on a review of 

the student's transcript and the successful completion of a 

board-approved competency examination administered by the 

school. The school may also request a copy of a catalog or 

bulletin giving the full course description when making the 

evaluation. The number of credit hours awarded shall not 

exceed the actual hours of instruction verified on the transcript 

or diploma or the number of hours specified in the board-

approved curriculum for a specific topic. Credit may only be 

given for in-person training. 

18VAC41-50-370. Hours of instruction and performances. 

A. Curriculum and performance requirements specified in 

18VAC41-50-360 and this section shall be taught over a 

minimum of 90 200 clock hours for permanent cosmetic 

tattooing [ program ] and 200 clock hours for a master 

permanent cosmetic tattooing [ program ]. 

B. A minimum of 50 performances shall be completed as part 

of the required permanent cosmetic tattooing instruction, 
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including two eyebrow, two microblading procedures, two lip 

liners, one lip color, and one full lips. Completion of 

performances are determined as follows:  

1. Two complete eyebrows constitutes one performance;  

2. Two complete eye liners constitutes one performance; and  

3. One complete lip liner constitutes one performance.  

C. A minimum of [ 70 60 ] performances shall be completed 

as part of the master permanent cosmetic tattooing instruction, 

including: 

Lip (cleft lip repigmentation) 10 

Areola 10 

[ Scalp Repigmentation 10 ] 

Blush application 10 

Camouflage 10 

Scar repigmentation 10 

Eyeshadow 10 

D. Completion of performances are determined as follows:  

1. Two complete eyebrows constitutes one performance;  

2. Two complete eye liners constitutes one performance; and  

3. One complete lip liner constitutes one performance. 

[ E. Individuals enrolled in a program prior to July 1, 2022, 

may complete the program at the hours in effect at the time 

they enrolled. ] 

18VAC41-50-380. Display of license. 

A. [ Each The responsible management for each ] tattoo parlor 

[ owner ] or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon [ owner ] shall 

ensure that all current licenses issued by the board shall be 

displayed in the reception area of the parlor or salon at the 

licensee's station or in plain view of the public. Duplicate 

licenses shall be posted in a like manner in every parlor or salon 

or location where the licensee provides services. 

B. [ Each The responsible management for each tattoo ] parlor 

owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon [ owner ] shall 

ensure that no licensee, apprentice, or student performs any 

service beyond the scope of practice for the applicable license. 

C. [ Each The responsible management for each ] tattoo parlor 

owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon owner shall offer to 

licensees the full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

D. [ Each The responsible management for each ] tattoo parlor 

owner or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon owner shall maintain 

a record for each licensee of one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the [ owner's responsible 

management's ] offer of a full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

E. All licensees shall operate under the name in which the 

license is issued. 

18VAC41-50-390. Physical facilities. 

A. A parlor or salon must be in a permanent building or 

portion of a building, which must be in a location permissible 

under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the parlor or 

salon shall be separated from any living quarters by complete 

floor to ceiling partitioning and shall contain no access to 

living quarters. 

B. The parlor, salon [ , ] or temporary location shall be 

maintained in a clean and orderly manner. 

C. All facilities shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the 

work area. 

D. Work surfaces shall be cleaned with [ an EPA a U.S. 

Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) ] registered, hospital 

grade disinfectant. Surfaces that come in contact with blood or 

other body fluids shall be immediately disinfected with an EPA 

registered germicide solution. Appropriate personal protective 

equipment shall be worn during cleaning and disinfecting 

procedures. 

E. Cabinets for the storage of instruments, dyes, pigments, 

single-use articles, carbon stencils and other utensils shall be 

provided for each operator and shall be maintained in a sanitary 

manner. 

F. Bulk single-use articles shall be commercially packaged 

and handled in such a way as to protect them from 

contamination. 

G. All materials applied to the human skin shall be from 

single-use articles or transferred from bulk containers to 

single-use containers and shall be disposed of after each use. 

H. The walls, ceilings, and floors shall be kept in good repair. 

The tattooing area shall be constructed of smooth, hard 

surfaces that are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light 

colored, and easily cleaned. New parlors shall not include any 

dark-colored surfaces in the tattooing area. Existing parlors or 

salons with dark-colored surfaces in the tattooing area shall 

replace the dark-colored surfaces with light-colored surfaces 

whenever the facilities are extensively remodeled or upon 

relocation of the business. 

I. Parlors, salons, or temporary locations shall have adequate 

lighting of at least 50-foot candles of illumination in the 

tattooing and sterilization areas. 

J. Adequate mechanical ventilation shall be provided in the 

parlor. 
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K. Each parlor, salon, or temporary location shall be equipped 

with hand-cleaning facilities for its personnel with 

unobstructed access to the tattooing area such that the tattooer 

can return to the area without having to touch anything with 

[ his the tattooer's ] hands. Hand-cleaning facilities shall be 

equipped either with hot and cold or tempered running water 

under pressure and liquid germicidal soap or with a sanitizing 

solution to clean hands. Hand-cleaning facilities shall be 

equipped with single-use towels or mechanical hand drying 

devices and a covered refuse container. Such facilities shall be 

kept clean and in good repair. All facilities must have running 

water and soap accessible for cleaning of hands contaminated 

by body fluids. 

L. Animals are not permitted in the parlor, salon, or temporary 

location except for guide or service animals accompanying 

persons with disabilities, or nonmammalian animals in 

enclosed glass containers such as fish aquariums, which shall 

be outside of the tattooing or sterilization areas. No animals are 

allowed in the tattooing or sterilization areas. 

M. Use of tobacco products and consumption of alcoholic 

beverages shall be prohibited in the tattooing or sterilization 

areas. 

N. No food or drink will be stored or consumed in the 

tattooing or sterilization areas except for client's use in order to 

sustain optimal physical condition; such food and drink must 

be individually packaged. 

O. If tattooing is performed where cosmetology services are 

provided, it shall be performed in an area that is separate and 

enclosed. 

P. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at least 

monthly. 

Q. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an 

independent laboratory. 

R. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period 

of three years and made available upon request. 

S. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used by 

the parlor's employees. 

18VAC41-50-400. Tattooer or permanent cosmetic tattooer 

or master permanent cosmetic tattooer responsibilities. 

A. All tattooers shall provide to the owner responsible 

management [ with ] one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the [ owner's responsible 

management's ] offer of a full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

B. All tattooers shall wear clean outer garments, maintain a 

high degree of personal cleanliness, and conform to hygienic 

practices while on duty. 

C. All tattooers shall clean their hands thoroughly using hot 

or tempered water with a liquid germicidal soap or use 

sanitizing solution to clean hands before and after tattooing and 

as necessary to remove contaminants. 

D. All tattooers must wear single-use examination gloves 

while assembling tattooing instruments and while tattooing. 

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, each time 

the gloves become torn or perforated, or whenever the ability 

of the gloves to function as a barrier is compromised: 

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and 

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used. 

F. Tattooers shall use standard precautions while tattooing. A 

tattooer diagnosed with a communicable disease shall provide 

to the [ department Department of Professional and Occupation 

Regulation ] a written statement from a health care practitioner 

that the tattooer's condition no longer poses a threat to public 

health. 

G. Tattooers with draining lesions on their hands or face will 

not be permitted to work until cleared by a [ health-care health 

care ] professional. 

H. The area of the client's skin to be tattooed shall be cleaned 

with an approved germicidal soap according to label directions. 

I. Tattooing inks and dyes pigments shall be placed in a 

single-use disposable container for each client. Following the 

procedure, the unused contents and container will be properly 

disposed of. 

J. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use and. After 

use, razors shall be recapped and properly disposed of in a 

puncture resistant container. 

K. Each tattooer performing any tattooing procedures in the 

parlor or salon shall have the education, training, and 

experience, or any combination thereof, to practice aseptic 

technique and prevent the transmission of bloodborne 

pathogens. All procedures shall be performed using aseptic 

technique. 

L. Multiuse instruments, equipment, furniture, and surfaces 

that may be contaminated during the tattooing process should 

be covered or wrapped in a nonporous disposable barrier. This 

barrier should be removed and disposed of after each service. 

M. After the disposable barrier is removed, covered items 

should be wiped down with [ an a U.S. ] Environmental 

Protection Agency [ (EPA) ] registered disinfectant that is 

bactericidal, virucidal, and fungicidal. 
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L. N. A set of individual, sterilized needles shall be used for 

each client. Single-use disposable instruments shall be 

disposed of in a puncture resistant container. 

M. O. Used, nondisposable instruments, such as stainless 

steel tubes, tips, and grips, shall be kept in a separate, puncture 

resistant container until brush scrubbed in hot water soap and 

then sterilized by autoclaving. Contaminated instruments shall 

be handled with disposable gloves. 

N. P. Used nondisposable instruments that are ultrasonically 

cleaned shall be rinsed under running hot water prior to being 

placed in the used instrument container; 

O. Q. Used nondisposable instruments that are not 

ultrasonically cleaned prior to being placed in the used 

instrument container shall be kept in a germicidal or soap 

solution until brush scrubbed in hot water and soap and 

sterilized by autoclaving. 

P. R. The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a 

germicidal solution. 

Q. S. Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and shall 

be handled and stored in a manner to prevent contamination. 

Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in bags made 

specifically for the purpose of autoclave sterilization and shall 

include the date of sterilization. If nontransparent bags are 

utilized, the bag shall also list the contents. 

R. T. Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code indicator 

that changes color upon proper sterilization shall be utilized 

during the autoclave sterilization process. 

S. Instruments U. Nondisposable instruments shall be placed 

in the autoclave in a manner to allow live steam to circulate 

around them. 

V. A Sealed, puncture proof dirty tube receptacle with cool, 

liquid sterilant should be maintained in the biohazard or 

cleanup room. 

W. Sharps containers should be located within reach of the 

tattooing area. 

T. X. Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall be 

disposed of in accordance with federal and state regulations 

regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials. 

U. Y. The manufacturer's written instructions of the autoclave 

shall be followed. 

18VAC41-50-410. Client qualifications, disclosures, and 

records. 

A. Except as permitted in § 18.2-371.3 of the Code of 

Virginia, a client must be a minimum of 18 years of age and 

shall present at the time of the tattooing or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing a valid, government issued, positive identification 

card including [ , but not limited to, ] a driver's license, 

passport, or military identification. The identification must 

contain a photograph of the individual and a printed date of 

birth. 

B. The tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master 

permanent cosmetic tattooer shall verify and document in the 

permanent client record the client's age, date of birth, and the 

type of identification provided. 

C. No person may be tattooed or permanent cosmetic tattooed 

who appears to be under the influence of alcohol or drugs. 

D. Tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing shall not be 

performed on any skin surface that manifests any evidence of 

unhealthy conditions, such as rashes, boils, infections, or 

abrasions, or on any asymmetrical, irregular, blurred, or 

multicolored mole. 

E. Before receiving a tattoo or permanent cosmetic tattoo, 

each client and client's parent or guardian, if applicable, shall 

be informed verbally and in writing, using the client disclosure 

form prescribed by the board, about the possible risk and 

dangers associated with the application of each tattoo. 

Signatures of both the client and the tattooer shall be required 

on the client disclosure form to acknowledge receipt of both 

the verbal and written disclosures. 

F. The tattoo parlor or temporary location or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo salon shall maintain proper records for each 

client. The information shall be permanently recorded and 

made available for examination by the [ department 

Department of Professional and Occupation Regulation ] or 

authorized agent. Records shall be maintained at the tattoo 

parlor or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon for at least two years 

following the date of the last entry. The temporary location 

client records shall be maintained by the license holder. The 

permanent records shall include the following: 

1. The name, address, and telephone number of the client; 

2. The date tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing was 

performed; 

3. The client's age, date of birth, and a copy of the positive 

identification provided to the tattooer, permanent cosmetic 

tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer; 

4. The specific color or colors of the tattoo or permanent 

cosmetic tattoo and, when available, the manufacturer's 

catalogue or identification number of each color used; 

5. The location on the body where the tattooing or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing was performed; 

6. The name of the tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or 

master permanent cosmetic tattooer; 

7. A statement that the client has received a copy of 

applicable written care instructions, and that the client has 

read and understands the instructions; and 

8. The signature of the client and if applicable parent or 

guardian. 
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18VAC41-50-420. Grounds for license or certificate 

revocation, suspension or probation; denial of application, 

renew renewal, or reinstatement; or imposition of a 

monetary penalty. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee or certificate holder and 

suspend, place on probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or 

reinstate any license or certificate, or deny any application 

issued under the provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and the regulations of the 

board this chapter if the board it finds that the licensee, 

certificate holder, or applicant: 

1. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is Is 

incompetent, or negligent in practice tattooing, or incapable 

mentally or physically, as those terms are generally 

understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a tattooer, 

limited term tattooer, tattooer apprentice, permanent 

cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent cosmetic tattooer or 

(ii) operate a parlor, permanent cosmetic tattooing salon, or 

school; 

2. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant is Is 

convicted of fraud or deceit in the practice of tattooing or 

fails to teach the curriculum as provided for in this chapter; 

3. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant obtained 

Obtained, attempted to obtain, renewed, or reinstated a 

license by false or fraudulent representation; 

4. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant violates 

Violates or induces others to violate, or cooperates with 

others in violating, any of the provisions of this chapter or 

Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of 

Virginia or any local ordinance or regulation governing 

standards of health and sanitation of the establishment in 

which tattooers may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent, in the performance 

of [ his that employee's ] duties, any federal, state, or local 

law, regulation, or ordinance governing tattooing as defined 

in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed parlor, salon, 

or school for compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 

(§ 54.1-700 et seq.) or this chapter; 

5. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails 8. Fails 

to produce, upon request or demand of the board or any of 

its agents, any document, book, record, or copy thereof in a 

licensee's or [ owner's responsible management's ] 

possession or maintained in accordance with this chapter; 

6. A licensee or certificate holder fails 9. Fails to notify the 

board of a change of name or address in writing within 30 

days of the change for each and every license. The board 

shall not be responsible for the licensee's or certificate 

holder's failure to receive notices, communications and 

correspondence caused by the licensees' or certificate 

holder's failure to promptly notify the board in writing of any 

change of name or address or for any other reason beyond 

the control of the board; 

7. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant 10. Makes 

any misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published 

any advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

8. The licensee, certificate holder, or applicant fails 11. Fails 

to notify the board in writing within 30 days of the 

suspension, revocation, or surrender of a license or 

certificate in connection with a disciplinary action in any 

other jurisdiction or of any license or certificate that has been 

the subject of disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; or 

9. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, the 

licensee or certificate holder has been convicted in any 

jurisdiction of a felony or [ non-marijuana ] misdemeanor 

that directly relates to the profession of tattooing. The board 

shall have the authority to determine, based upon all the 

information available, including the regulant's record of 

prior convictions, if the regulant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in the profession of tattooing or permanent cosmetic 

tattooing. The board will decide each case by taking into 

account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo 

contendere shall be considered a conviction for the purposes 

of this section. The applicant shall provide a certified copy 

of a final order, decree or case decision by a court or 

regulatory agency with the lawful authority to issue such 

order, decree or case decision, and such copy shall be 

admissible as prima facie evidence of such conviction. This 

record shall be forwarded by the applicant to the board 

within 10 days after all appeal rights have expired. 

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any tattoo parlor, limited term tattoo parlor, or 

permanent cosmetic tattoo salon or impose a fine as permitted 

by law, or both, if the board finds that:  

1. The owner or operator of the tattoo parlor, limited term 

tattoo parlor, or permanent cosmetic tattoo salon fails to 

comply with the facility requirements of tattoo parlors, 

limited term tattoo parlors, or permanent cosmetic tattoo 

salons provided for in this chapter or in any local ordinances; 

or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a tattooer, limited term 

tattooer, permanent cosmetic tattooer, or master permanent 
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cosmetic tattooer unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice.  

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any school or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that:  

1. An instructor of the approved school fails to teach the 

curriculum as provided for in this chapter;  

2. The owner or director of the approved school permits or 

allows a person to teach in the school without a current 

tattooing instructor certificate; or  

3. The instructor, owner or director is guilty of fraud or 

deceit in the teaching of tattooing.  

D. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable or 

infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state or 

federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and 

sanitation for the practice of tattooing.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a parlor, salon, or 

school, a person who has not obtained a license or guest 

tattooer license to practice as a tattooer [ or, ] permanent 

cosmetic tattooer [ , or master permanent cosmetic tattooer, 

] unless the person is duly enrolled as an apprentice; 

15. Allows, as responsible management of a school, a person 

who has not obtained an instructor certificate to practice as 

a tattooing or permanent cosmetic tattooing instructor; 

16. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission 

of communicable or infectious diseases or fails to comply 

with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or 

any local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the 

standards of health and sanitation for the practice of 

tattooing, or the operation of tattoo parlors or permanent 

cosmetic tattooing salons; or 

17. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-50) 

[ Tattooer Examination & License Application, A425-

1231EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattoo Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

12TATTREXP (eff. 9/2011) ] 

Tattooing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12TATSPON (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattooer Apprenticeship Certification Application, A425-

1234TAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Tattoo Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-12TAC (eff. 

9/2011) 

[ Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A425-12DIS, A425-12TDIS 

(eff. 9/2011) 

Limited Term Tattooer License Application, A450-1233LIC-

v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Limited Term Tattoo Parlor License Application, A450-

1235LIC-v5 (rev. 9/2016) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1236EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A425-1237EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1231EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105653.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1231EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105653.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-1213TREXP%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105730.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-1213TREXP%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105730.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Apprenticeship%20Certification%20Application,%20A425-1234TAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105831.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Apprenticeship%20Certification%20Application,%20A425-1234TAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105831.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Apprenticeship%20Certification%20Application,%20A425-1234TAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105914.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattooer%20Apprenticeship%20Certification%20Application,%20A425-1234TAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105914.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Apprenticeship%20Completion%20Form,%20A425-12TAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105946.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Apprenticeship%20Completion%20Form,%20A425-12TAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606105946.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form,%20A425-12DIS,%20A425-12TDIS%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110022.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Tattoo%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form,%20A425-12DIS,%20A425-12TDIS%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110022.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/783bd004795~15.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/783bd004795~15.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/0b8a4004795~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/0b8a4004795~16.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1236EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1236EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110134.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Master%20Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1237EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110240.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Master%20Permanent%20Cosmetic%20Tattooer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1237EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110240.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/123d1004795~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/123d1004795~17.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-1213TREXP%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110339.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-1213TREXP%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230606110339.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/b3b1c004795~18.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/b3b1c004795~18.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/f0915004795~19.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/f0915004795~19.pdf
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Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v7 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v9 (rev. 

9/2016) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v2 (rev. 9/2016) 

Tattooer Examination & License Application, A450-

1231EXLIC (rev. 7/2019) 

Tattoo Client Disclosure Form, A450-12TDIS (rev. 4/2013) ] 

Limited Term [ Event Tattoo Parlor License Application, 

A450-1235LIC-v6 (rev. ] 7/2019 [ 3/2020) 

Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1236EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2019) 

Master Permanent Cosmetic Tattooer Examination & License 

Application, A450-1237EXLIC-v11 (rev. 7/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v12 (rev. 7/2019) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 4/2017) 

Instructor Certification Application, A450-1213INST-v11 

(rev. 7/2019) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) 

School License Application, A450-1213SCHL-v11 (rev. 

2/2017) 

School Reinstatement Application, A450-1213SCH-REIN-

v5 (rev. 3/2017) ] 

Convention Tattooer License Application, A450-

1233COVLIC-v1 (eff. 7/2019) 

[ Guest Tattooer License Application, A450-1233GLIC-v1 

(eff. 7/2019) ] 

18VAC41-60-10. Definitions. 

The following words and terms when used in this chapter 

shall have the following meanings unless the context clearly 

indicates otherwise. All terms defined in Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 

et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia are incorporated 

in this chapter. 

"Apprenticeship program" means an approved body-piercing 

training program conducted by an approved apprenticeship 

sponsor. 

"Apprenticeship sponsor" means an individual approved to 

conduct body-piercing apprenticeship training who meets the 

qualifications in 18VAC41-60-70. 

"Aseptic technique" means a hygienic practice that prevents 

and hinders the direct transfer of microorganisms, regardless 

of pathogenicity, from one person or place to another person 

or place. 

"Body piercer ear only" means any person who uses only a 

mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates 

the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both for compensation. 

"Body piercing ear only" means the use of a mechanized, 

presterilized ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer 

perimeter or lobe of the ear or both. 

"Body-piercing ear only salon" means any place in which a 

fee is charged for the act of using a mechanized, presterilized 

ear-piercing system that penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe 

of the ear or both. 

"Business entity" means a sole proprietorship, partnership, 

corporation, limited liability company, limited liability 

partnership, or any other form of organization permitted by 

law.  

"Endorsement" means a method of obtaining a license by a 

person who is currently licensed in another state [ or 

jurisdiction of the United States ]. 

"Firm" means any business entity recognized under the laws 

of the Commonwealth of Virginia. 

"Gratuitous services" as used in § 54.1-701.5 of the Code 

Virginia means providing body-piercing services without 

receiving compensation or reward, or obligation. Gratuitous 

services do not include services provided at no charge when 

goods are purchased. 

"Licensee" means any person, partnership, association, 

corporation, limited liability company, or corporation sole 

proprietorship, limited liability partnership, or any other form 

of organization permitted by law holding a license issued by 

the Board for Barbers and Cosmetology as defined in § 54.1-

700 of the Code of Virginia. 

"Reinstatement" means having a license restored to 

effectiveness after the expiration date has passed. 

"Renewal" means continuing the effectiveness of a license for 

another period of time. 

"Responsible management" means the following individuals: 

1. The sole proprietor of a sole proprietorship; 

2. The partners of a general partnership; 

3. The managing partners of a limited partnership; 

4. The officers of a corporation; 

5. The managers of a limited liability company; 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/e0ab4004795~20.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/e0ab4004795~20.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/97e80004795~21.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/97e80004795~21.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/911ec004795~22.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/911ec004795~22.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/4b072004795~23.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/4b072004795~23.pdf
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6. The officers or directors of an association or both; and 

7. Individuals in other business entities recognized under the 

laws of the Commonwealth as having a fiduciary 

responsibility to the firm. 

"Sole proprietor" means any individual, not a corporation, 

who is trading under [ his that individual's ] own name or under 

an assumed or fictitious name pursuant to the provisions of 

§§ 59.1-69 through 59.1-76 of the Code of Virginia.  

"Sterilization area" means a separate room or area separate 

from workstations with restricted client access in which body-

piercing instruments are cleaned, disinfected, and sterilized. 

"Temporary location" means a fixed location at which body 

piercing is performed for a specified length of time of not more 

than seven days in conjunction with a single event or 

[ celebration convention ]. 

18VAC41-60-20. General requirements. 

A. In order to receive a license as a body piercer in 

compliance with § 54.1-703 of the Code of Virginia, an 

applicant must Any individual wishing to engage in body 

piercing shall obtain a license in compliance with § 54.1-703 

of the Code of Virginia and meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall be in good standing as a body piercer 

in every jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. 

The applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of 

application for licensure any disciplinary action taken in 

another Virginia or any other jurisdiction in connection with 

the applicant's practice as a body piercer. This disclosure 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure whether if [ he the applicant ] has been previously 

licensed in Virginia as a body piercer. 

Upon review of the applicant's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein the board deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to 

engage in body piercing and body piercing ear only. The 

board will decide each case by taking into account the 

totality of the circumstances. Any plea of nolo contendere or 

comparable plea shall be considered a disciplinary action for 

the purposes of this subdivision. The applicant shall provide 

a certified copy of a final order, decree, or case decision by 

a court, regulatory agency, or board with the lawful authority 

to issue such order, decree, or case decision, and such copy 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

disciplinary action. 

2. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 

board's body-piercing regulations this chapter. 

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for this purpose of this section. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. The 

board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or certification 

to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code 

of Virginia. the following information regarding criminal 

convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date 

of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall provide evidence satisfactory to the 

board that the applicant has passed the board-approved 

examination, administered either by the board or by a 

designated testing service. 

6. Persons who (i) make application between April 1, 2007, 

and March 31, 2008; (ii) have completed three years of 

documented work experience within the preceding five years 

as a body piercer; and (iii) have completed a minimum of 

five hours of health education including but not limited to 

blood borne disease, sterilization, and aseptic techniques 

related to body piercing and first aid and CPR that is 

acceptable to the board are not required to complete 

subdivision 5 of this subsection.  

B. Eligibility to sit for board-approved body-piercer 

examination. 

1. Training in the Commonwealth of Virginia. Any person 

completing an approved body-piercing apprenticeship 

program in a Virginia licensed body-piercing salon shall be 

eligible to sit for the examination. 

2. Training outside of the Commonwealth of Virginia, but 

within the United States [ and its territories or jurisdiction of 

the United States ]. Any person completing a body-piercing 

training or apprenticeship program that is substantially 

equivalent to the Virginia program but is outside of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia must submit to the board 
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documentation of the successful completion of training or 

apprenticeship to be eligible for examination. If less than 

required hours of body-piercing training or body-piercing 

apprenticeship was completed, an applicant must submit (i) 

documentation acceptable to the board verifying the 

completion of a substantially equivalent body-piercing 

training or body-piercing apprenticeship or documentation 

of three years of work experience within the preceding five 

years as a body piercer and (ii) documentation of completion 

of a minimum of five hours of health education to include 

but not limited to blood borne (a) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to body piercing 

and; (b) first aid; and (c) CPR that is acceptable to the board 

in order to be eligible for examination. 

C. In order to receive a license as a body piercer ear only, an 

applicant must meet the following qualifications: 

1. The applicant shall have completed a minimum of three 

hours of health education to include but not limited to blood 

borne bloodborne disease and first aid that is acceptable to 

the board and provide verification of training on a 

mechanized, presterilized ear-piercing system that 

penetrates the outer perimeter or lobe of the ear or both and 

aftercare of piercing. 

2. The applicant shall be in good standing in every 

jurisdiction where licensed, certified, or registered. The 

applicant shall disclose to the board at the time of application 

for licensure any disciplinary action taken in another 

jurisdiction in connection with the applicant's licensed, 

certified, or registered practice. The applicant shall disclose 

to the board at the time of application for licensure whether 

he has been previously licensed in Virginia in any profession 

regulated by the board. 

3. The applicant shall disclose the applicant's physical 

address. A post office box is not acceptable. 

4. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and the 

board's body-piercing regulations. 

5. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose a conviction, in any 

jurisdiction, of any felony or non-marijuana misdemeanor. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for this purpose of this section. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such guilt. The 

board, at its discretion, may deny licensure or certification 

to any applicant in accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code 

of Virginia. the following information regarding criminal 

convictions in Virginia and all other jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date 

of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

18VAC41-60-30. License by endorsement. 

Upon proper application to the board, any person currently 

licensed to practice as a body piercer in any other state or 

jurisdiction of the United States and who has completed a 

training or apprenticeship program and an examination that is 

substantially equivalent to that required by this chapter may be 

issued a body-piercer body piercer license without an 

examination. The applicant must also meet the requirements 

set forth in 18VAC41-60-20 A 1 through A 4. 

18VAC41-60-40. Examination requirements and fees. 

A. Applicants for initial licensure shall pass an examination 

approved by the board. The examinations may be administered 

by the board or by a designated testing service. 

B. Any candidate failing to appear as scheduled for 

examination shall forfeit the examination fee. 

C. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application. 

D. Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within 

one year of the initial examination date shall be required to 

submit a new application. 

E. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

F. Any candidate failing to apply for initial licensure within 

five years of passing the written examination shall be required 

to retake the examination. Records of examinations shall be 

maintained for a maximum of five years. 
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18VAC41-60-50. Reexamination requirements. 

(Repealed.) 

Any applicant who does not pass a reexamination within one 

year of the initial examination date shall be required to submit 

a new application and examination fee.  

18VAC41-60-60. Examination administration. (Repealed.) 

A. The examinations may be administered by the board or the 

designated testing service.  

B. The applicant shall follow all procedures established by 

the board with regard to conduct at the examination. Such 

procedures shall include any written instructions 

communicated prior to the examination date and any 

instructions communicated at the site, either written or oral, on 

the date of the examination. Failure to comply with all 

procedures established by the board and the testing service 

with regard to conduct at the examination may be grounds for 

denial of application.  

C. The fee for examination or reexamination is subject to 

contracted charges to the board by an outside vendor. These 

contracts are competitively negotiated and bargained for in 

compliance with the Virginia Public Procurement Act (§ 2.2-

4300 et seq. of the Code of Virginia). Fees may be adjusted and 

charged to the candidate in accordance with these contracts. 

The fee shall not exceed $225 per candidate.  

18VAC41-60-80. Salon license. 

A. Any individual firm wishing to operate a body-piercing 

salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall obtain a salon 

license in compliance with § 54.1-704.1 of the Code of 

Virginia. and shall meet the following qualifications in order 

to receive a license: 

1. The applicant and all members of the responsible 

management shall be in good standing as a licensed salon in 

Virginia and all other jurisdictions where licensed. The 

applicant and all members of the responsible management 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure any disciplinary action taken in Virginia and all 

other jurisdictions in connection with the applicant's 

operation of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear 

only salon or practice of the profession. This disclosure 

includes monetary penalties, fines, suspensions, revocations, 

surrender of a license in connection with a disciplinary 

action, or voluntary termination of a license. The applicant 

shall disclose to the board at the time of application for 

licensure if the applicant or any member of the responsible 

management has been previously licensed in Virginia as a 

body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon.  

Upon review of the applicant's and all members of the 

responsible management's prior disciplinary action, the 

board, in its discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant 

wherein it deems the applicant is unfit or unsuited to engage 

in the operation of a body-piercing salon or body-piercing 

ear only salon. The board will decide each case by taking 

into account the totality of the circumstances. Any plea of 

nolo contendere or comparable plea shall be considered a 

disciplinary action for the purposes of this subdivision. The 

applicant shall provide a certified copy of a final order, 

decree, or case decision by a court, regulatory agency, or 

board with the lawful authority to issue such order, decree, 

or case decision, and such copy shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such disciplinary action.  

2. The applicant shall disclose his physical address. A post 

office box is not acceptable. 

3. The applicant shall sign, as part of the application, a 

statement certifying that the applicant has read and 

understands the Virginia body-piercing license laws and this 

chapter.  

4. In accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia, 

each applicant shall disclose the following information about 

the firm and all members of the responsible management 

regarding criminal convictions in Virginia and all other 

jurisdictions: 

a. All misdemeanor convictions involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury within two years of the date 

of the application; and 

b. All felony convictions within 20 years of the date of 

application. 

Any plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction 

for purposes of this subsection. The record of a conviction 

received from a court shall be accepted as prima facie 

evidence of a conviction or finding of guilt. The board, in its 

discretion, may deny licensure to any applicant in 

accordance with § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. 

5. The applicant shall disclose the firm's responsible 

management.  

B. A body-piercing salon license or body-piercing ear only 

salon license shall not be transferable and shall bear the same 

name and address of the business [ entity ]. Any changes in the 

name, or address, or ownership of the salon shall be reported 

to the board in writing within 30 days of such changes. New 

[ owners responsible management ] shall be responsible for 

reporting such changes in writing to the board applying for a 

new license within 30 days of the changes. 

C. In the event of a closing of a body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon, the board must be notified by the 

owners in writing within 30 days of the closing, and the license 

must be returned by the owners to the board. Whenever the 

legal business entity holding the license is dissolved or altered 

to form a new business entity, the original license becomes 

void and shall be returned to the board within 30 days of the 

change. Additionally, the firm shall apply for a new license 
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within 30 days of the change in the business entity. Such 

changes include: 

1. Death of a sole proprietor; 

2. Death or withdrawal of a general partner in a general 

partnership or the managing partner in a limited partnership; 

and 

3. Conversion, formation, or dissolution of a corporation, a 

limited liability company, an association, or any other 

business entity recognized under the laws of the 

Commonwealth of Virginia. 

D. Any change in the officers of a corporation, managers of a 

limited liability company, or officers or directors of an 

association shall be reported to the board in writing within 30 

days of the change. 

D. E. Any individual firm wishing to operate a body-piercing 

salon in a temporary location must have a body-piercing salon 

license issued by the board. 

Part IV 

Renewal/Reinstatement Renewal and Reinstatement 

18VAC41-60-110. License renewal required. 

All body-piercer body piercer, body-piercer body piercer ear 

only, body-piercing salon, and body-piercing ear only salon 

licenses shall expire two years from the last day of the month 

in which they were issued. 

18VAC41-60-120. Continuing education requirement. 

All licensed body piercers shall be required to satisfactorily 

complete a minimum of five hours of health education to 

include but not limited to blood borne (i) bloodborne disease, 

sterilization, and aseptic techniques related to body piercing 

and; (ii) first aid; and (iii) CPR during their licensed term. All 

licensed body piercers ear only shall be required to 

satisfactorily complete a minimum of three hours of health 

education to include but not limited to blood borne bloodborne 

disease and first aid during their licensed term. Documentation 

of training completion shall be provided at the time of renewal 

along with the required fee. 

18VAC41-60-140. Failure to renew. 

A. When a body piercer an individual or body piercer ear only 

business entity fails to renew [ their its ] license within 30 days 

following its expiration date, the licensee shall meet the 

renewal requirements prescribed in 18VAC41-60-120 and 

18VAC41-60-130 and apply for reinstatement of the license by 

submitting to the Department of Professional and Occupational 

Regulation a reinstatement application along with the required 

renewal and reinstatement fees. 

B. When a body piercer or body piercer ear only an individual 

or business entity fails to renew his its license within two years 

following the expiration date, reinstatement is no longer 

possible. To resume practice, the former body-piercer licensee 

shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all 

current application requirements, shall pass the board's current 

examination if applicable, and shall receive a new license. To 

resume practice, the former body-piercer ear only licensee 

shall apply for licensure as a new applicant, shall meet all 

current application requirements, and shall receive a new 

license. 

C. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within 30 days following the 

expiration date, it shall be required to apply for reinstatement 

of the license by submitting to the Department of Professional 

and Occupational Regulation a reinstatement application along 

with the required renewal and reinstatement fees.  

D. When a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon fails to renew its license within two years following the 

expiration date, reinstatement is no longer possible. To resume 

practice, the former licensee shall apply for licensure as a new 

applicant and shall meet all current application requirements.  

E. C. The date a renewal fee is received by the Department of 

Professional and Occupational Regulation, or its agent, will be 

used to determine whether the requirement for reinstatement of 

a license is applicable and an additional fee is required. 

F. D. When a license is reinstated, the licensee shall have the 

same license number and shall be assigned an expiration date 

two years from the previous expiration date of the license date 

of the last day of the month of reinstatement. 

G. E. A licensee who that reinstates his its license shall be 

regarded as having been continuously licensed without 

interruption. Therefore, a licensee shall be subject to the 

authority of the board for activities performed prior to 

reinstatement. 

H. F. A licensee who that fails to reinstate his its license shall 

be regarded as unlicensed from the expiration date of the 

license forward. Nothing in this chapter shall divest the board 

of its authority to discipline a licensee for a violation of the law 

or regulations during the period of time for which the 

individual was licensed. 

18VAC41-60-190. Physical facilities. 

A. A body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon 

must be in a permanent building, which must be in a location 

permissible under local zoning codes, if any. If applicable, the 

body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon shall be 

separated from any living quarters by complete floor to ceiling 

partitioning and shall contain no access to living quarters. 

B. The body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall be maintained in a clean and orderly 

manner. 

C. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall have a blood spill clean-up kit in the 

work area. 
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D. Work surfaces in a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear 

only salon, or temporary location shall be cleaned with [ an 

EPA-registered a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 

(EPA) registered ], hospital grade disinfectant. Surfaces that 

come in contact with blood or other body fluids shall be 

immediately disinfected with an EPA-registered germicide 

solution. Appropriate personal protective equipment shall be 

worn during cleaning and disinfecting procedures. 

E. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, cabinets or containers for the storage of 

instruments, single-use articles, and other utensils shall be 

provided for each operator and shall be maintained in a sanitary 

manner. 

F. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, bulk single-use articles shall be 

commercially packaged and handled in such a way as to protect 

them the articles from contamination. 

G. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, all materials applied to the human skin 

shall be from single-use articles or transferred from bulk 

containers to single use containers and shall be disposed of 

after each use. 

H. In a body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only salon, 

the walls, ceilings, and floors shall be kept in good repair. The 

body-piercing area shall be constructed of smooth, hard, 

surfaces that are nonporous, free of open holes or cracks, light 

colored, and easily cleaned. New physical facilities shall not 

include any dark-colored surfaces in the body-piercing area. 

Existing physical facilities with dark-colored surfaces in the 

body-piercing area shall replace the dark-colored surfaces with 

light-colored surfaces whenever the facilities are extensively 

remodeled or upon relocation of the business [ entity ]. 

I. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall have adequate lighting of at least 50 

foot-candles of illumination in the body-piercing and 

sterilization areas. 

J. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, adequate mechanical ventilation shall be 

provided. 

K. A body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location shall be equipped with hand-cleaning 

facilities for its personnel with unobstructed access to the 

body-piercing area or body-piercing ear only area such that the 

body piercer or body piercer ear only can return to the area 

without having to touch anything with his hands. Hand-

cleaning facilities shall be equipped either with hot and cold or 

tempered running water under pressure and liquid germicidal 

soap or with a sanitizing solution to clean hands. Hand-

cleaning facilities shall be equipped with single-use towels or 

mechanical hand drying devices and a covered refuse 

container. Such facilities shall be kept clean and in good repair. 

All facilities must have running water and soap accessible for 

cleaning of hands contaminated by body fluids. 

L. Animals are not permitted in the body-piercing salon, 

body-piercing ear only salon, or temporary location except for 

guide or service animals accompanying persons with 

disabilities or nonmammalian animals in enclosed glass 

containers such as fish aquariums, which shall be outside of the 

body-piercing area or sterilization areas area. No animals are 

allowed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only area, 

or sterilization areas area. 

M. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, the use of tobacco products and 

consumption of alcoholic beverages shall be prohibited in the 

body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only area, or 

sterilization areas area. 

N. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, no food or drink will be stored or 

consumed in the body-piercing area, body-piercing ear only 

area, or sterilization areas area. 

O. In a body-piercing salon, body-piercing ear only salon, or 

temporary location, if body-piercing or body-piercing ear only 

is performed where cosmetology services are provided, it shall 

be performed in an area that is separate and enclosed. 

P. All steam sterilizers shall be biological spore tested at least 

monthly. 

Q. Biological spore tests shall be verified through an 

independent laboratory. 

R. Biological spore test records shall be retained for a period 

of three years and made available upon request. 

S. Steam sterilizers shall be used only for instruments used by 

the salon's employees. 

18VAC41-60-200. Body piercer and body piercer ear only 

responsibilities. 

A. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall provide 

to the [ owner responsible management ] one of the following: 

1. Proof of completion of the full series of Hepatitis B 

vaccine; 

2. Proof of immunity by blood titer; or 

3. Written declaration of refusal of the [ owner's responsible 

management ] offer of a full series of Hepatitis B vaccine. 

B. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall wear 

clean outer garments, maintain a high degree of personal 

cleanliness, and conform to hygienic practices while on duty. 

C. All body piercers and body piercers ear only shall clean 

their hands thoroughly using hot or tempered water with a 

liquid germicidal soap or use sanitizing solution to clean hands 

before and after body piercing and as necessary to remove 

contaminants. 
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D. All body piercers and body piercers ear only must wear 

single-use examination gloves while assembling instruments 

and another pair of single-use examination gloves while 

providing piercing services. 

E. Each time there is an interruption in the service, each time 

the gloves become torn or perforated or become contaminated, 

or whenever the ability of the gloves to function as a barrier is 

compromised: 

1. Gloves shall be removed and disposed of; and 

2. Hands shall be cleaned and a fresh pair of gloves used. 

F. Body piercers and body piercers ear only shall use standard 

precautions while providing piercing services. A body piercer 

or body piercer ear only diagnosed with a communicable 

disease shall provide to the [ department Department of 

Professional and Occupation Regulation ] a written statement 

from a health care practitioner that the body piercer's condition 

no longer poses a threat to public health. 

G. Body piercers and body piercers ear only with draining 

lesions on their hands or face will not be permitted to work 

until cleared by a health care professional. 

H. The area of the client's skin to be pierced shall be cleaned 

with an approved germicidal soap or antiseptic product 

according to label directions. 

I. The external skin of the client to be pierced shall be cleaned 

with an approved germicidal soap or antiseptic product 

according to the label directions. In the case of oral piercings, 

the operator shall provide the individual with antiseptic 

mouthwash in a single-use cup and shall ensure that the 

individual utilizes the mouthwash provided. In the case of a lip, 

labret [ , ] or cheek piercing, procedures described in this 

subsection for both skin and oral piercings shall be followed. 

J. If shaving is required, razors shall be single-use and 

disposed of in a puncture-resistant container. 

K. Each body piercer or body piercer ear only performing any 

piercing procedures in the salon shall have the education, 

training and experience, or any combination thereof, to 

practice aseptic technique and prevent the transmission of 

[ blood borne bloodborne ] pathogens. All procedures shall be 

performed using aseptic technique. 

L. An individual, single-use, pre-sterilized piercing needle 

shall be used for each client. Single-use disposable instruments 

shall be disposed of in a puncture-resistant container. 

M. Used, nondisposable instruments shall be kept in a 

separate, puncture-resistant container until brush scrubbed in 

hot water soap and then sterilized by autoclaving. 

Contaminated instruments shall be handled with disposable 

gloves. 

N. Used nondisposable instruments that are ultrasonically 

cleaned shall be rinsed under running hot water prior to being 

placed in the used instrument container. 

O. Used nondisposable instruments that are not ultrasonically 

cleaned prior to being placed in the used instrument container 

shall be kept in a germicidal or soap solution until brush 

scrubbed in hot water and soap and sterilized by autoclaving. 

P. The ultrasonic unit shall be sanitized daily with a 

germicidal solution. 

Q. Nondisposable instruments shall be sterilized and shall be 

handled and stored in a manner to prevent contamination. 

Instruments to be sterilized shall be sealed in bags made 

specifically for the purpose of autoclave sterilization and shall 

include the date of sterilization. If nontransparent bags are 

utilized, the bag shall also list the contents. 

R. Autoclave sterilization bags with a color code indicator 

that changes color upon proper sterilization shall be utilized 

during the autoclave sterilization process. 

S. Instruments Nondisposable instruments shall be placed in 

the autoclave in a manner to allow live steam to circulate 

around them. 

T. Contaminated disposable and single-use items shall be 

disposed of in accordance with federal and state regulations 

regarding disposal of biological hazardous materials. 

U. The manufacturer's written instruction of the autoclave 

shall be followed. 

18VAC41-60-220. Grounds for license revocation or 

suspension or probation; denial of application, renewal, or 

reinstatement; or imposition of a monetary penalty. 

A. The board may, in considering the totality of the 

circumstances, fine any licensee and suspend, place on 

probation, or revoke or refuse to renew or reinstate any license, 

or deny any application issued under the provisions of Chapter 

7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia and 

the regulations of the board this chapter if [ the board it ] finds 

that the licensee or applicant: 

1. The licensee is Is incompetent or negligent in practice, or 

incapable mentally or physically, as those terms are 

generally understood in the profession, to (i) practice as a 

body piercer or body piercer ear only, or (ii) operate a body 

piercing salon; 

2. The licensee or applicant is Is convicted of fraud or deceit 

in the practice body piercing or body piercing ear only; 

3. The licensee or applicant attempted Attempted to obtain, 

obtained, renewed, or reinstated a license by false or 

fraudulent representation; 

4. The licensee or applicant violates Violates or induces 

others to violate, or cooperates with others in violating, any 

of the provisions of this chapter or Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et 
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seq.) of Title 54.1 of the Code of Virginia or any local 

ordinance or regulation governing standards of health and 

sanitation of the establishment in which body piercers or 

body piercers ear only may practice or offer to practice; 

5. Offers, gives, or promises anything of value or benefit to 

any federal, state, or local employee for the purpose of 

influencing that employee to circumvent in the performance 

of [ his the employee's ] duties any federal, state, or local 

law, regulation, or ordinance governing body piercing as 

defined in § 54.1-700 of the Code of Virginia; 

6. Fails to respond to the board or any of its agents or 

provides false, misleading, or incomplete information to an 

inquiry by the board or any of its agents; 

7. Fails or refuses to allow the board or any of its agents to 

inspect during reasonable hours any licensed salon for 

compliance with provisions of Chapter 7 (§ 54.1-700 et seq.) 

or this chapter; 

5. The licensee or applicant fails 8. Fails to produce, upon 

request or demand of the board or any of its agents, any 

document, book, record, or copy thereof in a licensee's or 

[ owner's responsible management ] possession or 

maintained in accordance with this chapter; 

6. A licensee fails 9. Fails to notify the board of a change of 

name or address in writing within 30 days of the change for 

each and every license. The board shall not be responsible 

for the licensee's failure to receive notices, communications 

and correspondence caused by the licensee's failure to 

promptly notify the board in writing of any change of name 

or address or for any other reason beyond the control of the 

board; 

7. The licensee or applicant 10. Makes any 

misrepresentation or publishes or causes to be published any 

advertisement that is false, deceptive, or misleading; 

8. The licensee or applicant fails 11. Fails to notify the board 

in writing within 30 days of the suspension, revocation, or 

surrender of a license, certificate, or permit in connection 

with a disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction or of any 

license, certificate, or permit which has been the subject of 

disciplinary action in any other jurisdiction; 

9. The licensee or applicant has been convicted or found 

guilty in any jurisdiction of any felony or non-marijuana 

misdemeanor. Any plea of nolo contendere shall be 

considered a conviction for the purpose of this section. The 

record of a conviction certified or authenticated in such form 

as to be admissible in evidence under the laws of the 

jurisdiction where convicted shall be admissible as prima 

facie evidence of such guilt; or 

10. The licensee, certificate holder, temporary license 

holder, or applicant fails to notify the board in writing within 

30 days that the licensee, certificate holder, temporary 

license holder, or applicant has pleaded guilty or nolo 

contendere or was convicted and found guilty of any felony 

or non-marijuana misdemeanor. 

B. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any body-piercing salon or body-piercing ear only 

salon or impose a fine as permitted by law, or both, if the board 

finds that:  

1. The owner or operator of the body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon fails to comply with the facility 

requirements of body-piercing salons or body-piercing ear 

only salons provided for in this chapter or in any local 

ordinances; or  

2. The owner or operator allows a person who has not 

obtained a license to practice as a body piercer or body 

piercer ear only unless the person is duly enrolled as an 

apprentice.  

C. In addition to subsection A of this section, the board may, 

in considering the totality of the circumstances, revoke, 

suspend, place on probation, or refuse to renew or reinstate the 

license of any licensee or impose a fine as permitted by law, or 

both, if the board finds that the licensee fails to take sufficient 

measures to prevent transmission of communicable or 

infectious diseases or fails to comply with any local, state, or 

federal law or regulation governing the standards of health and 

sanitation for the practice of body piercing or body piercing ear 

only.  

12. Has been convicted or found guilty, regardless of the 

manner of adjudication in Virginia or any other jurisdiction 

of the United States, of a misdemeanor involving moral 

turpitude, sexual offense, [ non-marijuana ] drug 

distribution, or physical injury or any felony, there being no 

appeal pending therefrom or the time for appeal having 

elapsed. Review of convictions shall be subject to the 

requirements of § 54.1-204 of the Code of Virginia. Any 

plea of nolo contendere shall be considered a conviction for 

purposes of this subdivision. The record of a conviction 

certified or authenticated in such form as to be admissible in 

evidence under the laws of the jurisdiction where convicted 

shall be admissible as prima facie evidence of such 

conviction or guilt; 

13. Fails to inform the board in writing within 30 days of 

pleading guilty or nolo contendere or being convicted or 

found guilty regardless of adjudication of any convictions as 

stated in subdivision 12 of this section; 

14. Allows, as responsible management of a salon, a person 

who has not obtained a license to practice as a body piercer 

or body piercer ear only unless the person is duly enrolled as 

an apprentice; 

15. Fails to take sufficient measures to prevent transmission 

of communicable or infectious diseases or fails to comply 
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with sanitary requirements provided for in this chapter or 

any local, state, or federal law or regulation governing the 

standards of health and sanitation for the practice of body 

piercing, or the operation of body-piercing salon or body-

piercing ear only salon; or 

16. Fails to comply with all procedures established by the 

board and the testing service with regard to conduct at any 

board examination. 

NOTICE: The following forms used in administering the 

regulation have been filed by the agency. Amended or added 

forms are reflected in the listing and are published following 

the listing. Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register 

of Regulations may also click on the name to access a form. 

The forms are also available from the agency contact or may 

be viewed at the Office of Registrar of Regulations, 900 East 

Main Street, 11th Floor, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

FORMS (18VAC41-60) 

[ Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A425-

1241EXLIC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Training & Experience Verification Form, 

A425-12BPTREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Sponsor Application, A425-

12BPSPON (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprentice Certification Application, A425-

1244BPAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Apprenticeship Completion Form, A425-

12BPAC (eff. 9/2011) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A425-12BPDIS (eff. 

9/2011) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-

v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v9 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A425-

1213TREXP (eff. 9/2011) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v8 (rev. 9/2016) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v6 (rev. 9/2016) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v8 

(rev. 9/2016) 

Body Piercer Examination & License Application, A450-

1241EXLIC-v13 (rev. 7/2019) 

Body-Piercing Client Disclosure Form, A450-12BPDIS-v2 

(rev. 4/2013) 

Body Piercer Ear Only License Application, A450-1245LIC-

v7 (rev. 7/2019) 

License by Endorsement Application, A450-1213END-v10 

(rev. 2/2017) 

Training & Experience Verification Form, A450-

1213TREXP-v6 (eff. 2/2017) 

Salon, Shop, Spa & Parlor License/Reinstatement 

Application, A450-1213BUS-v12 (rev. 7/2019) 

Licensure Fee Notice, A450-1213FEE-v7 (rev. 4/2017) 

Individuals - Reinstatement Application, A450-1213REI-v9 

(rev. 2/2017) ] 

VA.R. Doc. No. R18-5125; Filed April 21, 2023, 2:35 p.m. 

https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1241EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607155925.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Examination%20&%20License%20Application,%20A425-1241EXLIC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607155925.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-12BPTREXP%20(eff.%209-2011-20230607155958.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-12BPTREXP%20(eff.%209-2011-20230607155958.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=5cf74001836~8&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprentice%20Certification%20Application,%20A425-1244BPAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607130954.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Apprentice%20Certification%20Application,%20A425-1244BPAC%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607130954.pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
http://leg5.state.va.us/reg_agent/frmView.aspx?Viewid=0ffda001836~10&typ=40&actno=001836&mime=application/pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form,%20A425-12BPDIS%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607160034.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body-Piercing%20Client%20Disclosure%20Form,%20A425-12BPDIS%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607160034.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Ear%20Only%20License%20Application,%20A450-1245LIC-v6%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131101.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Body%20Piercer%20Ear%20Only%20License%20Application,%20A450-1245LIC-v6%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131101.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/License%20by%20Endorsement%20Application,%20A450-1213END-v9%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131143.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/License%20by%20Endorsement%20Application,%20A450-1213END-v9%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131143.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-1213TREXP%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607160244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Training%20&%20Experience%20Verification%20Form,%20A425-1213TREXP%20(eff.%209-2011)-20230607160244.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Salon,%20Shop,%20Spa%20&%20Parlor%20License%20&%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213BUS-v8%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607160320.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Salon,%20Shop,%20Spa%20&%20Parlor%20License%20&%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213BUS-v8%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607160320.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Licensure%20Fee%20Notice,%20A450-1213FEE-v6%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131237.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Individuals%20-%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213REI-v8%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131607.pdf
https://ris.dls.virginia.gov/uploads/18VAC41/forms/Individuals%20-%20Reinstatement%20Application,%20A450-1213REI-v8%20(rev.%209-2016)-20230607131607.pdf
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Guidance Documents 

PUBLIC COMMENT OPPORTUNITY 

Pursuant to § 2.2-4002.1 of the Code of Virginia, a certified guidance document is subject to a 30-day public comment period 

after publication in the Virginia Register of Regulations and prior to the guidance document's effective date. During the public 

comment period, comments may be made through the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall website (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) 

or sent to the agency contact. Under subsection C of § 2.2-4002.1, the effective date of the guidance document may be delayed 

for an additional period. The guidance document may also be withdrawn. 

The following guidance documents have been submitted for publication by the listed agencies for a public comment period. 

Online users of this issue of the Virginia Register of Regulations may click on the name of a guidance document to access it. 

Guidance documents are also available on the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall (http://www.townhall.virginia.gov) or from the 

agency contact or may be viewed at the Office of the Registrar of Regulations, 900 East Main Street, Richmond, Virginia 23219. 

DEPARTMENT FOR THE BLIND AND VISION 
IMPAIRED 

Titles of Documents: Virginia Industries for the Blind Policy 

and Procedure Manual Policy 6, Trainee Referral. 

Department of the Blind and Vision Impaired Virginia 

Industries for the Blind Trainee Referral Form. 

Public Comment Deadline: July 19, 2023. 

Effective Date: July 20, 2023. 

Agency Contact: Susan K. Davis, Senior Policy Analyst, 

Department for the Blind and Vision Impaired, 397 Azalea 

Avenue, Richmond, VA 23227, telephone (804) 371-3184, or 

email susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov. 

https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://law.lis.virginia.gov/vacode/title2.2/chapter40/section2.2-4002.1/
http://www.townhall.virginia.gov/
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/702/GDoc_DBVI_6509_20230424.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/702/GDoc_DBVI_6509_20230424.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/702/GDoc_DBVI_6510_20230424.pdf
https://townhall.virginia.gov/l/GetFile.cfm?File=C:/TownHall/docroot/GuidanceDocs_Proposed/702/GDoc_DBVI_6510_20230424.pdf
mailto:susan.davis@dbvi.virginia.gov
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General Notices 

STATE AIR POLLUTION CONTROL BOARD 

Public Comment Opportunity on a Proposed 
Revision to the State Air Quality Plan 

Notice of action: The Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) is announcing an opportunity for public comment on a 

proposed plan to attain and maintain the national ambient air 

quality standards (NAAQS). The Commonwealth intends to 

submit the plan as a revision to the Commonwealth of Virginia 

State Implementation Plan (SIP) in accordance with the 

requirements of § 110(a) of the federal Clean Air Act. The SIP 

is the plan developed by the Commonwealth in order to fulfill 

its responsibilities under the federal Clean Air Act to attain and 

maintain the NAAQS promulgated by the U.S. Environmental 

Protection Agency (EPA). 

Purpose of notice: DEQ is seeking comment on the issue of 

whether a particular regulation amendment, which adds a new 

nonattainment area to the regulation listing nonattainment 

areas (Regulation Revision F22), should be submitted as a 

revision to the SIP. 

Public comment period: June 19, 2023, through July 19, 2023. 

Public hearing: A public hearing will be conducted if a request 

is made in writing to the contact listed in this notice. In order 

to be considered, the request must include the full name, 

address, and telephone number of the person requesting the 

hearing and be received by DEQ by the last day of the comment 

period. Notice of the date, time, and location of any requested 

public hearing will be announced in a separate notice, and 

another 30-day comment period will be conducted. 

Public comment stage: The regulation amendment is exempt 

from the state administrative procedures for adoption of 

regulations by the provisions of § 2.2-4006 A 4 c of the 

Administrative Process Act because it is necessary to meet the 

requirements of the federal Clean Air Act and does not differ 

materially from the pertinent EPA regulations. The amendment 

has already been adopted and is exempt from administrative 

procedures for the adoption of regulations; therefore DEQ is 

accepting comment only on the issue cited under "purpose of 

notice" and not on the content of the regulation amendment. 

Description of proposal: On March 26, 2021 (86 FR 16055), 

EPA promulgated air quality designations for the 2010 primary 

sulfur dioxide (SO2) National Ambient Air Quality Standard 

(NAAQS). EPA has determined that a portion of Giles County, 

Virginia is not meeting the SO2 NAAQS and has designated it 

as a nonattainment area at 40 CFR 81.347. In order to 

implement the standard, Virginia's list of nonattainment areas 

(9VAC5-20-204) was updated accordingly under Regulation 

Revision F22; more information is available from the Virginia 

Regulatory Town Hall at https://townhall.virginia.gov/ 

L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9857. 

Federal information: This notice is being given to satisfy the 

public participation requirements of federal regulations 

(40 CFR 51.102). The proposal will be submitted as a revision 

to the Commonwealth of Virginia SIP under § 110(a) of the 

federal Clean Air Act in accordance with 40 CFR 51.104. 

How to comment: DEQ accepts written comments by email, 

fax, and postal mail. In order to be considered, comments must 

include the full name, address, and telephone number of the 

person commenting and be received by DEQ on the last day of 

the comment period. All faxes must have a cover page that lists 

the intended recipient. All materials received are part of the 

public record. 

To review proposal: The proposal and any supporting 

documents are available on the DEQ Air Public Notices 

website at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/air. The documents may also be 

obtained by contacting the DEQ representative listed in this 

notice. The public may schedule an appointment to review the 

documents between 8:30 a.m. and 4:30 p.m. of each business 

day until the close of the public comment period at the 

following DEQ locations: 

1) Main Street Office, 22nd Floor, 1111 East Main Street, 

Richmond, VA, telephone (804) 698-4000; and 

2) Blue Ridge Regional Office, 3901 Russell Drive, Salem, 

VA, telephone (540) 562-6700. 

Contact the agency staff listed for public comments, document 

requests, and additional information. 

Contact Information: Karen Sabasteanski, Department of 

Environmental Quality, P.O. Box 1105, Richmond, VA 23218, 

telephone (804) 659-1973, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov. 

DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL QUALITY 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
C&D Tree Service Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for C&D Tree 

Service Inc. for violations of State Water Control Law, 

regulations, and the applicable permit at the C&D Tree Service 

facility located in Great Falls, Virginia. The proposed consent 

order is available from the Department of Environmental 

Quality (DEQ) contact or at www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from June 20, 2023, through July 20, 2023. 

Contact Information: Katherine Mann, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov. 

https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9857
https://townhall.virginia.gov/L/ViewStage.cfm?stageid=9857
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/air
mailto:karen.sabasteanski@deq.virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
mailto:katherine.mann@deq.virgnia.gov
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Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Daniels Construction Corp. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Daniels 

Construction Corp for violations of State Water Control Law 

and regulations in Suffolk, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the Department of Environmental Quality 

(DEQ) contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/ 

permitsregulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The 

DEQ contact will accept written comments from June 19, 

2023, through July 19, 2023. 

Contact Information: John Brandt, Department of 

Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern Boulevard, Virginia 

Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, or email 

john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Dragados USA Inc. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dragados USA 

Inc. for violations of State Water Control Law and regulations 

at the Parallel Thimble Shoals Tunnel located in Virginia 

Beach, Virginia. The proposed order is available from the 

Department of Environmental Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from June 19, 2023, through July 19, 2023. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Dragados USA 
Inc. DBA Chesapeake Tunnel Joint Venture 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Dragados USA 

Inc. DBA Chesapeake Tunnel Joint Venture for violations of 

State Water Control Law and regulations at the Parallel 

Thimble Shoals Tunnel located in Virginia Beach, Virginia. 

The proposed order is available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from June 19, 2023, through July 19, 2023. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Foss Recycling of Virginia LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Foss Recycling 

of Virginia LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Foss Recycling Facility located in 

Chesapeake, Virginia. The proposed order is available from the 

Department of Environmental Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from June 19, 2023, through July 19, 2023. 

Contact Information: Russell Deppe, Enforcement Specialist, 

Department of Environmental Quality, 5636 Southern 

Boulevard, Virginia Beach, VA 23462, FAX (804) 698-4178, 

or email russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Greenlight Investment LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Greenlight 

Investment LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Old Cox Road Spoils Site located in 

Mecklenburg County, Virginia. The proposed order is 

available from the Department of Environmental Quality 

contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders. The staff 

contact will accept written comments from June 19, 2023, to 

July 20, 2023. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Noble 
Development of Virginia Corp. 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Noble 

Development of Virginia Corp. for violations of State Water 

Control Law and regulations at 10920 Braxton Avenue, 

Henrico County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the Department of Environment Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from June 19, 2023, to July 20, 2023. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Prince William County 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Prince William 

County for violations of State Water Control Law, regulations, 

and the applicable permit at the Prince William County 

Western District Police Station, Manassas, Virginia. The 

proposed consent order is available from the Department of 

Environmental Quality contact or at 

www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices. 

The DEQ contact will accept written comments from June 19, 

2023, through July 19, 2023. 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permitsregulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permitsregulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:john.brandt@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:russell.deppe@deq.virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Matthew.Richardson@DEQ.Virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
mailto:Matthew.Richardson@DEQ.Virginia.gov
http://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
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Contact Information: Holly Shupe, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

holly.shupe@deq.virgnia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for Smith-Midland 
Corporation 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Smith-Midland 

Corporation for violations of State Water Control Law, 

regulations, and the applicable permits at the Smith-Midland 

facility located in Midland, Virginia. The proposed consent 

order is available from the Department of Environment Quality 

(DEQ) contact or at https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-

regulations/public-notices. The DEQ contact will accept 

written comments from June 20, 2023, through July 20, 2023. 

Contact Information: Jim Datko, Department of 

Environmental Quality, Northern Regional Office, 13901 

Crown Court, Woodbridge, VA 22193, or email 

james.datko@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Soil Solutions Group LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Soil Solutions 

Group LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the Soil Solutions Group facility located in 

Powhatan County, Virginia. The proposed order is available 

from the Department of Environment Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from June 19, 2023, through July 20, 2023. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Proposed Enforcement Action for  
Walbridge Aldinger LLC 

An enforcement action has been proposed for Walbridge 

Aldinger LLC for violations of State Water Control Law and 

regulations at the LVL Data Center 08 located in Mecklenburg 

County, Virginia. The proposed order is available from the 

Department of Environment Quality contact or at 

https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-

notices/enforcement-orders. The staff contact will accept 

written comments from June 19, 2023, through July 20, 2023. 

Contact Information: Matt Richardson, Enforcement 

Specialist, Department of Environmental Quality, Piedmont 

Regional Office, 4949-A Cox Road, Glen Allen, VA 23060, or 

email matthew.richardson@deq.virginia.gov. 

Partridge Creek Solar LLC Notice of Intent for Small 
Renewable Energy Project (Solar) - Amherst County 

Partridge Creek Solar LLC via Sun Tribe Development has 

provided the Department of Environmental Quality a notice of 

intent to submit the necessary documentation for a permit by 

rule for a small renewable energy project (solar) in Amherst 

County, Virginia. The proposed Partridge Creek Solar Project 

will be located on one 141-acre parcel with a project area 

estimated at 90 acres. 

The parcel is accessible by Izaak Walton Road and lies east of 

North Coolwell Road, west of U.S. Route 29, and is intersected 

by Partridge Creek. The project centroid latitude and longitude 

coordinates are 37.512041, -79.072216. The proposed project 

has a rated capacity of 10 megawatts alternating current and 

will contain approximately 33,780 photovoltaic solar panels. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy 

Permit by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 774-8474, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

HCE Waterloo Solar LLC Update to Notice of Intent 
for Small Renewable Energy Project (Solar) -  

Prince William County  

HCE Waterloo Solar LLC has provided the Department of 

Environmental Quality a notice of intent to submit the 

necessary documents for a permit by rule for a small renewable 

energy project (solar) in Prince William County, Virginia. 

Formerly known as Logmill Solar, the project name has been 

changed to Waterloo Solar; the project number, RE0000229, 

will remain unchanged. The proposed project is located near 

the intersection of Logmill Road and U.S. Route 15 with the 

latitude and longitude coordinates 38.904379, -77.640188. 

The project is located on approximately 234 acres and will 

have a maximum capacity of 20 megawatts alternating current. 

The array will utilize approximately 47,300 solar modules 

mounted to a single-axis tracking system and will interconnect 

to the local distribution network. The project developer is 

Holocene Clean Energy. 

Contact Information: Amber Foster, Small Renewable Energy 

Permit by Rule Coordinator, Department of Environmental 

Quality, 1111 East Main Street, Richmond, VA 23219, 

telephone (804) 774-8474, or email 

amber.foster@deq.virginia.gov. 

mailto:holly.shupe@deq.virgnia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices
mailto:james.datko@deq.virginia.gov
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mailto:Matthew.Richardson@DEQ.Virginia.gov
https://www.deq.virginia.gov/permits-regulations/public-notices/enforcement-orders
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DEPARTMENT OF MEDICAL ASSISTANCE 
SERVICES 

Draft Virginia Medical Assistance Eligibility Manual 
Transmittal Available for Public Review and 

Comment  

Draft Transmittal #DMAS-28 is available at 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/5861/tn-dmas-28-7-01-

2023.pdf. Comments must be submitted by June 24, 2023. 

Contact Information: Emily McClellan, Regulatory Manager, 

Division of Policy and Research, Department of Medical 

Assistance Services, 600 East Broad Street, Suite 1300, 

Richmond, VA 23219, telephone (804) 371-4300, FAX (804) 

786-1680. 

VIRGINIA CODE COMMISSION 

Notice to State Agencies 

Contact Information: Mailing Address: Virginia Code 

Commission, Pocahontas Building, 900 East Main Street, 8th 

Floor, Richmond, VA 23219; Telephone: (804) 698-1810; 

Email: varegs@dls.virginia.gov. 

Meeting Notices: Section 2.2-3707 C of the Code of Virginia 

requires state agencies to post meeting notices on their 

websites and on the Commonwealth Calendar at 

https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov. 

Cumulative Table of Virginia Administrative Code 

Sections Adopted, Amended, or Repealed: A table listing 

regulation sections that have been amended, added, or repealed 

in the Virginia Register of Regulations since the regulations 

were originally published or last supplemented in the print 

version of the Virginia Administrative Code is available at 

http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf. 

Filing Material for Publication in the Virginia Register of 

Regulations: Agencies use the Regulation Information System 

(RIS) to file regulations and related items for publication in the 

Virginia Register of Regulations. The Registrar's office works 

closely with the Department of Planning and Budget (DPB) to 

coordinate the system with the Virginia Regulatory Town Hall. 

RIS and Town Hall complement and enhance one another by 

sharing pertinent regulatory information. 

https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/5861/tn-dmas-28-7-01-2023.pdf
https://www.dmas.virginia.gov/media/5861/tn-dmas-28-7-01-2023.pdf
file://///legmain/sysdata/dlsdata/CODEREGS/regispub/Vol33/Iss04/varegs@dls.virginia.gov
https://commonwealthcalendar.virginia.gov/
http://register.dls.virginia.gov/documents/cumultab.pdf
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Errata 

BOARD OF HOUSING AND COMMUNITY 
DEVELOPMENT 

Title of Regulation: 13VAC5-63. Virginia Uniform 

Statewide Building Code. 

Publication: 37:14 VA.R. 1880-2074 March 1, 2021. 

Correction to Final Regulation: 

Page 2073, DOCUMENTS INCORPORATED BY 

REFERENCE (13VAC5-63), column 2, line 19, after "NFPA" 

insert "["; 

unstrike "258-12"; 

strike "258-17"; and 

insert "]" 

VA.R. Doc. No. R19-5887; Filed June 7, 2023, 11:24 a.m. 
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